Blue Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
For years, I tried to get my family to eat cranberry at Thanksgiving - no luck until we tried this recipe. INSTANT FAVORITE - it's one of the things they look forward to now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This made a beautiful cranberry sauce - the blueberries looked like little blue jewels. I was hoping the sauce would have more blueberry flavor - I think next time I'll add about half the blueberries while the heat is on, and the other half after removing from heat. I added a half cup of sugar, and it is just the right sweet/tart combo. At first, I thought the nutmeg flavor was too intense, but it really mellowed after two days in the fridge; maybe next time I'll use half as much nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I just finished making this for the second year in a row. I love the idea of it, the look and the different textures. I did find however that the 3 spices (Cinnamon, Allspice and Nutmeg) Completely overpowered the dish. I remember I felt this way last year too. What I ended up doing was making a second batch without the spices and mixing them together, Love it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Settel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Great recipe! I never really liked the canned stuff, but my fiance would only go for the canned; but now - fresh always & on everything! I used half orange juice & half water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was wonderful, I added a whole bag of frozen blueberries, used one cup of sugar, and replaced the water with orange juice, as others suggested and it really in wonderful. Thank you for the recipe, and all the helpful tips!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have made this sauce for the past three years for Thanksgiving. It is becoming a tradition because people like it so much. The only change I had to make is using frozen blueberries because fresh are hard to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
i really enjoyed this recipe, the blueberries cut the tartness of the cranberries... the only thing i did different was instead of water i used oj..i will be making this on thanksgiving..thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I'm so excited that it's almost Thanksgiving again and I get to make this sauce. Huge hit with all my guests last year. I also took it to my grandmothers house for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it!! I add blackberries to mine as well as blueberries. It taste great either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was really nice for Thanksgiving. While it doesn't make it "blue" this is also great with a pint of fresh raspberries instead of blueberries. Such a delicious spin on traditional cranberry sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I had to add a comment on this recipe. I have been making this recipe from this site for years. This recipe is now a required part of our Thanksgiving feast. It is delicious warm. I love to enjoy this the morning after Thanksgiving with a homemade biscuit. God willing I will be making this every year for 50 more years. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYANN

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States