Blue Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This is wonderful! I added a bit more sugar and used half fresh blueberries and half fresh raspberries. It not only tasted great, but looked beautiful. My kids ate it alone, without the turkey and asked for more until it was gone. A huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
HELPFUL TIPS WHILE MAKING THIS: I definitely had to take the advice of another reviewer and add 1C of sugar. All the other cranberry sauce recipes on here call for 1C as well, so it's not as alarming as one may think. Otherwise, it is WAY too tart. Know that when they say the cranberries will POP ...they literally mean pop, so it may be best to not wear white or stand so close to the pot ;) Otherwise, this was delicious and a nice twist to the normal cranberry sauce. I've got to admit that my husband thought there was too much cinnamon, but he is one of those people who are sensitive to seasonings (loves them but hates when one overwhelms a recipe). Personally, I thought it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was the first time I tried to make a homemade cranberry sauce and it was a HUGE success. Both families were raving about it anf it was so simple. I did add an extra 1/2 cup of sugar and it cut the bitter taste down perfectly. This is going in my "use again" recipe box. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINGMING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This is super easy to make, and it is a HUGE hit everywhere I take it. It is the perfect combonation of Sweet and Tart! The recipe is perfect as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was wonderful! Instant family tradition, I don't think we'll have a Thanksgiving again without this. I can't beleive how -easy- it was. Just don't forget to pick over the cranberries. Also, I used a cup of orange juice instead of water, and really liked the flavor it added. It was a little bit tart for my taste, though others loved it as-is; next year I'll probably add a bit more sugar. But it was wonderful, thank you Connie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Excellent. I used frozen blueberries. Use ALL the spices, it really helps. In order for the flavors to "blend", be sure to squish the cranberries to be sure the skins are all popped. Also, it tastes better after "resting" for a day or two to allow the flavors to blend. It was a wonderful, tangy-tart cranberry sauce. I made a second batch and froze in small portions to use for sandwiches and weeknight meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Absolutely wonderful. I read the reviews and added and additional 1/4c of sugar. I also waited until the sauce cooled a bit before adding the blueberries. Tasted wonderful and looked great on the table. Definately a recipe that I will use each year. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Big hit last year for Thanksgiving...I'm not a big fan of cranberry sauce, but really enjoyed this one. Will make again this year. I used frozen blueberries, because I couldn't find fresh, you couldn't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This sauce was absolutely wonderful. EVERYONE loved it at Thanksgiving dinner(even my very pickey 2y/o and 4y/o nieces!) I added one can of drained mandarin oranges as decribed by another reviewer and it was a PERFECT blend! I also used frozen blueberries since they were so out of season and expensive. I would definitely make it again and I've already signed up to bring it to a work party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I made this for my then-boyfriend (now fiancee) as part of the first meal I ever cooked him. I made it with 1 cup frozen blueberries and 1 cup frozen raspberries. It was incredible!! (I served it with roast chicken, corn, mashed potatoes with croissants. Dessert was vanilla cake with truffle frosting.) I made it again a few weeks later for my mom. I added a small can of mandarin oranges for my mom. She loved it!! Even my brother who is a cran-in-a-can guy liked this! (I think this was part of the reason why my fiancee proposed - thank you Connie!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States