Blue Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I've made this every year since I found the recipe. Love it! I now judge those who use canned sauces! Based on the comments I sub orange juice for the water and I reduce the spices a bit as I feared it would be a bit "potpourri-ish" and I like it, but I don't know what it's like w/ the full spices so I can't say it wouldn't be great as written. I use frozen blueberries, folded in after the heat is off. I also add a little orange extract. It's good warm, it's good chilled, it's good today and good tomorrow. Yum! I love the tartness, so I didn't add add'l sugar, but your mileage may vary. This is so easy and quick and yummy that there is just no reason to use canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I will definitely be using this recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Beautiful and appreciated when brought as a holiday hostess gift. Made my crabby sis jealous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Have been making this for several years, and we absolutely love it! I now have my two boys hooked as well. We started with it as a Thanksgiving dish, but now make it continually during cranberry season. I do add an additional 1/8 cup sugar to cut down on the tartness, and instead of two cups blueberries, I always use 1 cup blueberries, 1/2 cup blackberries, and 1/2 cup raspberries. I could eat the whole bowl full myself! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I found it way too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Texas, USA
Living In: Appleton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
it was good but i used a little less cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was good, but I think fresh cranberry sauce without blueberries is much better. This left my guests asking "What's that taste in here?" since the blueberries were only slightly noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I make this every year at Thanksgiving and my picky family even likes it! I do add about a 1/4 cup extra sugar so it's not as bitter. Other than that, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I've been making this the last few years for Thanksgiving and it is now a family and workplace favorite. Occassionally, I mix in a little bit of orange juice, but overall, the recipe is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaeli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Update: I subbed the juice from a fresh-squeezed orange for part of the liquid, plus the zest, & liked the result. My mother-in-law likes this so much , she is adamant about having it on the table every year -- & keeps all the left-overs, too! : ) Yummy! I also used frozen blueberries, & was pleased with the result. I love the blueberries so much, though, I'll probably add some extra next time I prepare this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States