Blue Cornmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Sub coconut milk, olive oil and rice for wheat flour and believe it or not they taste great. Nice to have a go to recipe for my blue cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Ninomiya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stampmom9
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delish!! I ordered the blue cornmeal off of Amazon as I live in the middle of no where and have five boys at home. Not easy to go to the grocery store. I made them tonight however I had to quadruple the recipe in order to make enough for the guys! I always have extra too! Plus my husband takes leftovers to work! Amazing they all loved them and even my picky ones ate them. Since they are blue I added a pic I told them the "flour" was blue but it was just regular pancakes. The picky ones even had seconds which is a highly rare! Thank you for an excellent recipe. Also I wanted to add that we use corn cob syrup on them. Instead of corn cob jelly I make syrup which my husband thinks is soooo yummy! My oldest boys use regular maple syrup. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stampmom9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Made these pancakes for dinner tonight. They were delicious. I did make a couple of changes. Like several others I didn't have blue cornmeal so I used yellow and I had some buttermilk that was fast approaching its expiration date. I don't know if it was the buttermilk substitution but I did need to add more than the 1/2 cup called for in the recipe. The pancakes were light and fluffy with a great texture. I think letting the cornmeal hydrate really helps with the lightness. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Just made this recipe and followed it to the letter (except I used yellow cornmeal). Very good! A little fussier than regular pancakes to make but well worth the time. Cooked in an electric skillet and they came our perfect! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheesemite
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
They really did taste very much like the most wonderful blue corn pancakes I had once in the Albuquerque airport. I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Really good but needed more liquid. DH would have liked corn added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spoonnlime
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
So tasty! I used half buttermilk and half whole milk for the milk called and substituted a tablespoon and a half of raw honey for the sugar. We also added raspberries! They were delicious, moist, and perfect for a lazy weekend morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spoonnlime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
These were great; I also used yellow cornmeal. Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Easy to make GF! And dairy-free! Substituted Trader Joe's GF flour instead and used 2 TBSP oil instead of butter. Decreased the salt to 1/2 tsp and increased the sweetness to our family's liking. The additional step to soak cornmeal in boiling water is worth it in order to get a great texture, not gritty. These turned out perfectly. Sprinkled with cinnamon sugar or drizzled with honey--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
great! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Living In: Verona, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States