Blue Corn Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is delicious~ I am wheat, gluten, and cow dairy sensitive so I made a few modifications. 1. Substituted rice flour for AP 2. Substituted 1 1/8 C coconut milk for cow milk 3. Substituted 1/2 C applesauce for the butter 4. Added 1/4 cup dried fruit (blueberries and cranberries) 5. Subtstituted 1/4 C Agave nectar for the sugar I cooked it for 30 minutes and it came out perfect. It retained the cakelike texture and was moist and absolutely scrumptious. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! The blue cornmeal definitely adds a subtle, natural sweetness to the bread. The ingredients, proportions, and cooking directions are seamless- the cornbread turned out amazing. This recipe has since become my permanent cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
AMAZING. Simply AMAZING. Please note that I did not use blue cornmeal because I only had yellow on hand. ALSO I ran out of baking powder 1 tsp shy of 5 (didn't matter). AND (because capital letters tell you important things) I was also out of milk and had to substitute 1/2 c sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 c water instead (I went a light on the sugar to even it out). And the sifting 3 times, melting the butter in the oven in the dish and then pouring it in seemed so strange to me. But I did as instructed anyhow. And the result was.... The bread cooked for 30 minutes, came out perfect. It's perfection. Clearly with all the substitutions I had to make, and it still tastes wonderful, you just can't screw this bread up. This is my permanent recipe now. I will never go back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Fantastic! I used gluten free yellow cornmeal and gluten free AP Blend to make this gluten free. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Only adding a splash more milk to compensate for the gluten free flour. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I just took this out of the oven and I could eat the whole thing! Not too sweet like other cornbreads. I have never felt the need to rate a recipe, but this one is too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
awesome - very yummy, moist and sweet - oh so good! gotta try it with less butter next time... but it's really good if you don't care about that sort of thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I substituted 1/2c butter with 1/2c applesauce and about 1tbsp butter and it still came out quite rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I made two batches and decreased the sugar in the second batch by 1/4 and enjoyed it a bit more. Otherwise very good with gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Simply delicious. I've made it three times and the cornbread was excellent each time. I did have problems pouring the butter out of the baking dish into the cornbread mixture, but was more careful the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoilyLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Surry, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I make this regularly. I get loads of compliements every time & my kids even request it when I make white chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States