Blue Cheese with Capers and Red Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Absolutely my favorite appetizer to date. Hubs loves it too but not his absolute fav (he loves jalapeno poppers too much methinks!) 1) We're on a low-end budget so I couldn't justify the use of olive oil for just the 'folks@home' but it was still *very* good (I'm sure w/olive oil it's better still) 2) We're predisposed to blue-cheese dressings w/a touch of sugar, so I added about a half-teaspoon or so of raw sugar which was perfect for us 3) I didn't measure anything, I just dumped what 'looked right to me' in a bowl - but used all of the ingredients listed - so this is pretty flexible, IMHO 4) I left the bowl out on the counter for a couple of hours since I forgot to make it ahead. This is good @room temp, so that worked pretty well, &yes, it tasted significantly different after sitting for that time. (no leftovers, so can't compare an overnight fridging yet) 5) I don't care for this on Ritz but like it on celery, & adore it on thinly sliced toast (used some leftover bread from Jo's Rosemary Bread from this site sliced in thin slices, toasted w/garlic oil brushed on lightly) 6) I also liked just one thin slice of turkey breast from the deli on it 7) A couple slices of the toast w/this dip spread on top & a piece of deli sliced turkey on each, together w/salad, & possibly egg drop soup - would be an ideal meal to me..... Yum! 8) Agree w/reviewer that this is good on salad too. Thanks, DEG1, for sharing. I'm sure I'll make this often for meals, on salads, &4 get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is definitely an aquired taste. Although i like blue cheese and love olive oil i found that the capers perfected the dish. Overall nice appetizer but still quite strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Used this recipe as a topping for pasta and just loved it that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was a hit at my party and worked great for my friends on low carb diets. I used baked mushroom caps and small sweet peppers as scoops for this appetizer along with whole grain crackers. I will keep this as a go to appetizer as it is so simple to make and so well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe as is. The only difference is that I put it on a salad instead of eating it with crackers like the picture shows. It was pretty good to me. The kids even liked it! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Okay...this was so good I felt like I should have a cigarette after I was done! Really...really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very Good!Liked it on melba toast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I had this last night for the first time at a friends house - AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made this the night ahead as others had said it was even better after it had sat overnight....but I ate the whole thing! I LOVE this. I doubled the lemon juice...and added more capers and onions..as these are all things my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
i got everything together to make it and spilled the whole container of dry mustard on the floor so i did without and it was great next time i will make with the mustard as you call for and it will be even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States