Blue Cheese with Capers and Red Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Tried this last night at our card party. People raved. It looks unappealing but tastes great. I served it with pita chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this for two different groups this past weekend and got rave reviews from both. It is a bit unusual which makes it fun to serve. I made this about 2 hrs before guests came and let it sit out which allowed the cheese to become very spreadable on crackers. Made as directed and it is perfect without doctoring at all. Empty dish after each group! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Absolutely my favorite appetizer to date. Hubs loves it too but not his absolute fav (he loves jalapeno poppers too much methinks!) 1) We're on a low-end budget so I couldn't justify the use of olive oil for just the 'folks@home' but it was still *very* good (I'm sure w/olive oil it's better still) 2) We're predisposed to blue-cheese dressings w/a touch of sugar, so I added about a half-teaspoon or so of raw sugar which was perfect for us 3) I didn't measure anything, I just dumped what 'looked right to me' in a bowl - but used all of the ingredients listed - so this is pretty flexible, IMHO 4) I left the bowl out on the counter for a couple of hours since I forgot to make it ahead. This is good @room temp, so that worked pretty well, &yes, it tasted significantly different after sitting for that time. (no leftovers, so can't compare an overnight fridging yet) 5) I don't care for this on Ritz but like it on celery, & adore it on thinly sliced toast (used some leftover bread from Jo's Rosemary Bread from this site sliced in thin slices, toasted w/garlic oil brushed on lightly) 6) I also liked just one thin slice of turkey breast from the deli on it 7) A couple slices of the toast w/this dip spread on top & a piece of deli sliced turkey on each, together w/salad, & possibly egg drop soup - would be an ideal meal to me..... Yum! 8) Agree w/reviewer that this is good on salad too. Thanks, DEG1, for sharing. I'm sure I'll make this often for meals, on salads, &4 get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is definitely an aquired taste. Although i like blue cheese and love olive oil i found that the capers perfected the dish. Overall nice appetizer but still quite strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Used this recipe as a topping for pasta and just loved it that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was a hit at my party and worked great for my friends on low carb diets. I used baked mushroom caps and small sweet peppers as scoops for this appetizer along with whole grain crackers. I will keep this as a go to appetizer as it is so simple to make and so well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe as is. The only difference is that I put it on a salad instead of eating it with crackers like the picture shows. It was pretty good to me. The kids even liked it! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Okay...this was so good I felt like I should have a cigarette after I was done! Really...really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very Good!Liked it on melba toast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I had this last night for the first time at a friends house - AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States