Blue Cheese and Walnut Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I love this recipe, my mom made this for Christmas last year! It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Not a bad recipe, just average in my book. The wafers came out a bit dry for my taste. Took them to a party and they were barely touched. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
If you're not a HUGE bleu cheese lover, you might just think these are ok, but they're a must for bleu cheese enthusiasts! The first log I made was per this recipe. They were good, but I tweeked it by adding 1/4 tsp garlic powder, let the log chill overnight, sliced them then gave each cracker a dash of hot sauce before baking. They were delish!! While serving them to friends, some topped it with a grilled shrimp, great combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I only gave it three stars because not everyone favors bleu cheese. If you like it, you'll like these. I tasted the dough and thought it needed a little kick, so replaced the salt with 1/2 teaspoon garlic parsley salt and a few twists on the crushed red pepper grinder. Then I sprinkled the cracker tops with just a touch of sea salt and popped them in the oven. I guess know your audience because I came home from my party with an empty plate, I think they licked it for crumbs! Btw, slicing was aided by using a sharp knife and dipping in warm water between every few slices. (; These would also be good sprinkled with dill or savory or any spice you love with your bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this recipe and found that these wafers were fairly tasteless and very brittle. I like blue cheese but I really did not like this recipe. They weren't bad with some tuna mixed with spicy brown mustard and some mayonnaise but they didn't add too much flavor. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were a major hit! I used a little more bleu cheese, a little less butter, and almonds instead of walnuts. They had to bake a longer, about 15 minutes. The taste was exceptional - nutty and delicious. We topped ours with a dollop of homemade hot pepper jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Be sure the dough is very chilled before slicing. TIP: Use waxed dental floss to slice intead of a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made a couple of add-ons to the recipe. We love blue cheese and we loved these crackers. I bundled them in family Christmas parcels with a blackberry pepper jelly. I added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. hot chili flakes and a dash of worcestershire sauce to the dough. Also, I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans. I cooked them longer (20 minutes) and flipped them half way through to add some crispiness...absolutely will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States