Blue Cheese and Walnut Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I love this recipe, my mom made this for Christmas last year! It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Not a bad recipe, just average in my book. The wafers came out a bit dry for my taste. Took them to a party and they were barely touched. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
If you're not a HUGE bleu cheese lover, you might just think these are ok, but they're a must for bleu cheese enthusiasts! The first log I made was per this recipe. They were good, but I tweeked it by adding 1/4 tsp garlic powder, let the log chill overnight, sliced them then gave each cracker a dash of hot sauce before baking. They were delish!! While serving them to friends, some topped it with a grilled shrimp, great combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I only gave it three stars because not everyone favors bleu cheese. If you like it, you'll like these. I tasted the dough and thought it needed a little kick, so replaced the salt with 1/2 teaspoon garlic parsley salt and a few twists on the crushed red pepper grinder. Then I sprinkled the cracker tops with just a touch of sea salt and popped them in the oven. I guess know your audience because I came home from my party with an empty plate, I think they licked it for crumbs! Btw, slicing was aided by using a sharp knife and dipping in warm water between every few slices. (; These would also be good sprinkled with dill or savory or any spice you love with your bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this recipe and found that these wafers were fairly tasteless and very brittle. I like blue cheese but I really did not like this recipe. They weren't bad with some tuna mixed with spicy brown mustard and some mayonnaise but they didn't add too much flavor. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were a major hit! I used a little more bleu cheese, a little less butter, and almonds instead of walnuts. They had to bake a longer, about 15 minutes. The taste was exceptional - nutty and delicious. We topped ours with a dollop of homemade hot pepper jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Be sure the dough is very chilled before slicing. TIP: Use waxed dental floss to slice intead of a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made a couple of add-ons to the recipe. We love blue cheese and we loved these crackers. I bundled them in family Christmas parcels with a blackberry pepper jelly. I added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. hot chili flakes and a dash of worcestershire sauce to the dough. Also, I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans. I cooked them longer (20 minutes) and flipped them half way through to add some crispiness...absolutely will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States