Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This was a great hit at a party I took them to. The key to greater success is to keep the tartlets warm. I did not have a warming plate. Also, I may try a granny smith apple because I felt the pear was not tart enough to offset the blue cheese. I will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
These are wonderful. I made the filling 3 hours early and filled the shells just prior to baking. I will definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
these were awesome! served them to my friends at a "purse" party...raves! almost everyone begged for the recipe. i doubled the recipe *used a little less than double the blue cheese* only used one pear and 2 pkgs of tarts. i heated the tarts first for 5 minutes ..then filled and baked. must be a lover of crumbly blue! i might even try adding a bit of apple and some finely chopped walnuts next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Fast & easy - and very sophisticated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Great Recipe! I brought these for a dinner party over at my in-laws house. My Father-in-law could not stop raving about them! I used an extra 1/2 pear in this and kept everything else the same. Very good, and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOTTISHDUFFY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I couldn't find premade phylo shells and didn't have time to make some, so I used pie crust instead. I cut store bought crust into approx. 2 inch squares and pressed them into mini tart pans. I baked the pie crust for a little less time than the package called for then I put the filling into the hot pie crust and put it back into the oven for 5 more minutes. They came out bubbly and delicious and were gone within minutes at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Cup Of Deliciousness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
very good! I took this to a dinner party and it was a big hit. I had too much filling for one package of phyllo tarts but saved it for the next day. Next time I won't add as much blue cheese so there's no leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This was a great hit at my party. The blue cheese was really mild. I would serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Looooove these! They're always a hit at parties, and the hardest part about making them is cutting up the pear - not so bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Everyone at the party last night loved this one. A BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States