Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Made these two years ago for my Thanksgiving appetizer. Made them per the recipe, they came out great! My brother decided to add a bit of Frank's Red Hot on top and that was actually a great add. Will be making them again for Thanksgiving this year. They are super easy to make! I did have a bit of a hard time finding the Phyllo shells at first, but found them in the freezer aisle at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Did not like these, a friend had them at a party so I looked up this recipe and gave it a try. They were quite tasteless, the blue cheese and pear combo is soo bland, they looked quite lovely but need some definite work, an addition of something to give them flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
These were impressive and SO delicious!! If you're a blue cheese lover, this is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Not to my taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this appetizer for Christmas eve. Was really excited about serving it as I love the combination of pear and blue cheese. I was actually disappointed in the flavor. Nothing special. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this recipe for a New Year's Eve party and was disappointed in both the recipe and of my execution of it. I made the filling ahead of time (about two hours) and let it sit in the fridge. I think this is where I went wrong. The filling was flat, running, and pretty unappealing - it took on a greyish color that was pretty funking. I would recommend using gorgonzola as others have recommended. I just might try this again but tweak based on comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Awesome! Wow, these were amazing! I topped mine with just a little bit of carmelized onion, and they were amazing. Easy and delicious appetizer...quick prep...impressive presentation, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I thought these were really good. I took some tips from other reviewers and added a drizzle of honey and a candied walnut to each of them once they were done cooking. I am SO happy I did that. They needed a little sweetness, otherwise they would be way to blue cheesy rich. If your guests are fans of blue cheese on its own, then these will be a hit. Otherwise, probably not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These came out great. Followed other reviewers advice and used some cream cheese to reduce the over powering flavor of the gorgonzola. I also used canned pears that were not in syrup (just in pear juice), walnuts, and honey. Some people who normally dont like the flavor or blue cheese liked them while others thought the blue cheese flavor was too prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was wonderful. Made it before reading reviews, but also used gorgonzola and topped with a candied walnut. Also, try sprinkling pomegranates seeds for added visual interest. This just became a staple in my repertoire of appys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Suzette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States