Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I loved these. I did what some others reviewers said and used sweet gorgonzola instead. I also drizzled the final product with some honey for some added sweetness. Worked very well with the cheese and complimented the pears. It also makes for a more “finished” look and presentation. Will make these again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I didn't actually make this but I sent the recipe to my parents (who are very picky about quality of food) as a suggestion for their annual party. I was able to attend the party and try these beauties. DELICIOUS. The sweet and strong flavors mix together nicely. Even my friend who doesn't really like blue cheese was able to partake in these (though he said he really likes pears and I do not like pears). As for my parents they thought this came out very well and was super east to make. A winner all-around in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was good, I think it can be better and I will try again with additional adjustments, however, the first time I made this my slight adjustments included, bumping up the amount of cream cheese from 2 tbsp to 4 tbsp. Increased pear to 1 1/2 and grated instead of chopped. I blended with a food processor which was a mistake. i should have left out the pear and only processed the cream cheese and blue cheese. I also folded in about 3 tbsp of finely chopped pecans. Everyone enjoyed, there were no leftovers. Next time I will try using phyllo sheets instead of cups and assemble as foldovers (see feta folders recipe on this site, also a good one). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I couldn't find premade phylo shells and didn't have time to make some, so I used pie crust instead. I cut store bought crust into approx. 2 inch squares and pressed them into mini tart pans. I baked the pie crust for a little less time than the package called for then I put the filling into the hot pie crust and put it back into the oven for 5 more minutes. They came out bubbly and delicious and were gone within minutes at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Cup Of Deliciousness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Everyone at the party last night loved this one. A BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Fast & easy - and very sophisticated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
These are wonderful. I made the filling 3 hours early and filled the shells just prior to baking. I will definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Made these for a baby shower and was disappointed, although there were none left over. I did not think that they were very pretty (not sure what I was expecting), and even though I subbed in gorgonzola for the blue cheese, the flavor still totally overpowered the pear. I might try these again by dramatically increasing the pear to cheese ratio so that they taste more like pear with a hint of cheese, rather than the other way around. I'll also buy more shells next time -- we were left with a lot of filling leftover (though I'm going to try to use it up by sprinkling it over field greens).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I used this recipe for my daughters wedding reception. It was fabulous. I was concerned that the blue cheese might be overpowering so I used gorgonzola instead, much milder and the flavors blended wonderfully. There were none left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
These were so easy yet elegant. I made them for a girls' night out party and they were the rave. I plan on having them on my girlfriend's bridal shower. Thanks for a fabulous and super simple recipe! Love it, Love it, Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States