Blue Cheese and Dried Cranberry Tossed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written, with no changes or substitutions, except I reduced the amount of blue cheese by 50 percent, because it was over-powering. While all the ingredients sounded wonderful together, this salad could have been saved using a different dressing. Just using balsamic vinegar alone as the sole dressing on this salad ruined it - it did not go with the salad at all. Only two out of 7 people liked the salad, but I think they were being polite. With a different dressing, this salad could have been saved. Good ingredients; with an expensive salad, I would highly recommend a different dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for our family Christmas dinner. The only thing that I omitted was the cucumber - I didn't see how that would enhance the flavor of the salad with the blue cheese and toasted pecans. I used Paul Newman's Light Cranberry Walnut dressing. I think next time I would use a balsamic vinaigrette instead and add a little purple/red onion for a little more kick. Will definately make a again as it was a beautiful salad for the holiday! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Whenever I try to make a salad on my own, the flavors don't seem to blend well so I decided to try following a recipe and this one was great. I just left out the cucumber- it's easy to add or leave out ingredients to your taste, but the nuts, cranberries and blue cheese made an excellent combination. The balsamic vinaigrette dressing is a must for a perfect salad. I made it for christmas dinner and everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good. Served it at a family dinner and many were going back for 2nd and 3rd helpings. I would make sure to add the balsamic vinaigrette just before serving because after a while the salad started to wilt. Or you could have it on the side and let people add it themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I took this to a church luncheon. It was SO easy to put together, but looked very festive in a trifle dish. I didn't dress it, just put a bottle of fat free raspberry vinaigrette next to the bowl. All gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I added a little raspberry vinaigrette to the dressing and "snowed" the frozen blue cheese over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Ok - made it for a dinner party. I used feta instead of blue cheese. Maybe that is what made it so-so. But those toasted walnuts were the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very Very Good. Consider altering the ratio fo cheese and cranberries to romaine hearts, I halved the greens so as to get more blue cheese and cranberry goodness in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is an amazing salad! I personally don't add the cucumbers and walnuts. The combination of tomato, blue cheese, and cranberry works so well together, sometimes i just skip the lettuce and eat that by itself! I use oil and red wine vinegar as my dressing and the flavor is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Really nice flavors. I did add more cranberries - personal preference. Once the balsamic vinaigrette is gone I'm going to use raspberry vinaigrette on the salad instead. I bought good blue cheese & I really liked it better than the cheaper stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States