Blue Cheese and Dried Cranberry Tossed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Everyone loved this salad. I made this with a Cranberry/Orange Pork Tenderloin recipe and this came out more flavorful. Good combination. Cranberries, toasted nuts & blue cheese are great with the balsamic. A diner was hesistant to eat it because he doesn't like balsamic/oil based dressings, but he was pleasantly surprised by the blend and had seconds. Great simple work free salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is an amazing salad! I personally don't add the cucumbers and walnuts. The combination of tomato, blue cheese, and cranberry works so well together, sometimes i just skip the lettuce and eat that by itself! I use oil and red wine vinegar as my dressing and the flavor is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Try pistachios instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumehra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I made this salad with a couple adjustments. I didn't have cuke, so I added some sliced red onion and also some apple chunks. It is now my absolute fave summer salad. Try adding blueberries, also, it's a great salad for fruit and the balsamic tastes great with it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very Very Good. Consider altering the ratio fo cheese and cranberries to romaine hearts, I halved the greens so as to get more blue cheese and cranberry goodness in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Really nice flavors. I did add more cranberries - personal preference. Once the balsamic vinaigrette is gone I'm going to use raspberry vinaigrette on the salad instead. I bought good blue cheese & I really liked it better than the cheaper stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Excellent salad. Very good selection of foods to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This is a great change from an ordinary dinner salad. I followed the recipe and it turned out great. I loved it and plan to make it again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Wonderful, very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good. Served it at a family dinner and many were going back for 2nd and 3rd helpings. I would make sure to add the balsamic vinaigrette just before serving because after a while the salad started to wilt. Or you could have it on the side and let people add it themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States