Blue Cheese, Spinach Meat Loaf Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
made them lastnight for the picky eaters in my home....& WOW they both loved it!!! My 12yr old niece hates everything, and she asked for more! I used turkey instead of beef. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PenaWife
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I was a little worried that my kids (6yo & 2 1/2yo) would turn up their noses at the blue cheese but I was so pleasantly surprised how mild the blue cheese flavor was. The marriage of flavors here were delicious and my husband proclaimed it his favorite meatloaf ever. I used 2lbs of ground beef and there was enough meat to fill all 6 large muffin tins and 6 regular sized muffin tins - which were perfect sized for the kids. Both muffin trays cooked together in the oven for the 30 minutes specified in the recipe. We will be making this one again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PenaWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Wow! We loved these at the LTH house and it is rare for us both to rave about a meal, ESPECIALLY dreaded "meatloaf"! I followed the recipe to a "T", though I did sub gorgonzola for blue because I was too lazy to backtrack in the grocery store. I ended up with a fairly rough chop on the onions and I'm glad I was too lazy to get a finer dice because I enjoyed the onion in larger chunks. When I make these again (and I will!), I will add more spinach and maybe some shredded carrots, too, just to pack in some more nutrients. Thanks for making me not hate meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made these for supper last night. I'm not much of a cook, and have never made meat loaf before, but I figured these sounded straight-forward enough. I used fresh spinach and onion (both locally, organically grown!), Progresso Italian-style bread crumbs, and Athenos Blue Cheese Crumbles. I followed the recipe exactly. I was able to fill 12 regular muffin cups about 80%-90% full, and cooked it for about 20 minutes instead of the 30 in the recipe. I broke the center one in half, and it was cooked through. Normally, my husband will eat what I cook, and say, yeah, it's ok. But he ate 2 muffins for supper, took 2 to work (graveyard shift), and ate them this morning, and ate another 2 for supper tonight. And, yes, there were other things he could have had for supper. So I'm gonna say, they're winners! Not only did my picky husband like them, but my 5-year old ate 2 of them (with his hands, 'cause "it's funner that way"), dipping them in ketchup instead of putting the ketchup on top. WAY less mess than normal meatloaf that way! I think this is going to become a regular meal at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I loved this! I made it shaped as a regular meatloaf instead of the individual servings and added a ton of extra blue cheese since we love the flavor--and I can not wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
trying to find something different to do with ground turkey tonight when i happened upon this little gem :) really really good idea and base recipe. in my opinion, both the spinach and cheese need to be doubled, and the breadcrumbs need to be cut back by half, hence the 4 star rating. i was afraid the kids wouldn't touch them with the spinach in it, but i think they were so enthralled that their dinner came out of a cupcake pan that they said nothing - seriously, they said NOTHING about it! amazing. i think next time i will actually use cupcake papers to bake these, because the kids were so enthusiastic about the whole "mini" idea. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Very tasty. Gave it a 4/5 because I added more cheese, and coated the top with 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. ketchup, and 2T worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was excellent. Blue cheese is the way to go. I LOVE meatloaf and I liked the idea of making individual portions and having it bake more quickly. I used frozen spinach instead of fresh and just thawed it and squeezed out the water. Also added some ketchup. To me meatloaf isn't meatloaf without it. Next time I think I'll add some shredded carrots and chopped mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smccann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piketon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Absolutely WONDERFUL!! I am not a meatloaf fan at all. I made this recipe because my family LOVES meatloaf! This meatloaf smelled so wonderful and tasted so good that I went back for seconds! I followed the recipe exactly and will make it over and over. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Made this recipe last night for my husband and I! We loved it!! I was nervous about the blue cheese crumbles because I only like some blue cheeses, but I ended up enjoying the crumbles, I think I'll put extra next time! My husband had ketchup with his, but I liked it just fine without. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States