Blue Cheese Potatoes Delmonico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My husband made this for Mother's Day dinner. Served with Ribeye and steamed asparagus it looked impressive on the plate. He should have checked reviews to see what others had tweaked to make it theirs. He increased the liquid (3/4 c. cream)and reduced the cooking time of the sauce. He added 2 oz more of the bleu cheese (remainder of package) to have a little more "punch". As others have suggested, sauteed onions, garlic and maybe rosemary would be a nice touch. It was ok. Will try to morph the leftovers into a cheesy potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Maybe more blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
These were very creamy tasty potatoes however I was hoping for more of a blue cheese taste. I may try this recipe again and change the amounts of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Used red potatoes, turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
not a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very good as written. To keep a sauce or gravy lump-free, slide the pan off direct heat, whisk in the liquid, then return the pan to heat and continue to cook gently. It works for all the roux (flour and fat) based gravy/sauces. I look for blue with the most blue veining - it has the sharpest flavor. The only thing I changed was to cut the potatoes into slabs rather than cubes; that way I could more-or-less layer the sauce within the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
My hubby just loved these potatoes. He would give way more stars if he could. Me not so much. following other reviewers suggestions, I cut way back on the flour and butter for the roux, and I am very glad that I did. I added some Creole seasoning and a half a cup of parmesan cheese. It was maybe a 4 star for me. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good not great. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I give the recipe 2 stars, but my results were definitely 5 star. I had to make way too many changes to it. Just looking at the recipe, you can tell something's not right. For one thing, 1/2 cup each of butter and flour is WAY too much roux for just 2 cups of liquid. My bechamel would have been a brick! Additionally, this recipe needed flair. It has practically no flavoring except the blue cheese. So I sauteed some garlic and Herbs de Provence with the butter to infuse it with a little seasoning (I'm sure any other herbs you like would be fine) before I added the flour and liquids. I doubled the amount of blue cheese, added Kosher salt to taste, a hit of white pepper, and just a pinch of nutmeg to give it that little something that makes you go "Hmm." Remember to always TASTE your sauce and correct the seasonings as necessary. It's too late once your food comes out of the oven! I had a pouch of Simply Potatoes hash browns on hand, so I stirred those into the sauce instead of having to cook the potatoes first, and it made things MUCH easier on me. Topped off the casserole with panko bread crumbs, and the results were mouthwatering. So, 2 stars for a decent starting point, but I definitely had to change it to make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I agree with the others that the proportions are a bit off here. I played around with amounts, and added seasonings, garlic, and bits of bacon before baking them at 400 degrees for one hour. With the amendments, they were decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States