Blue Cheese Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Made this at a party I catered this weekend, and people wouldn't stop talking about it. Made a couple of changes--used cider vinegar in the dressing and roasted the potatoes. But seriously--bacon, blue cheese, and potatoes? If you don't like this, you're just not eating right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Loved this potato salad - totally different than anything I have made before and a nice change. I also used a bit of prepared blue cheese dressing in addition to the included dressing (just 1-2 T of it) and extra blue cheese crumbles. I also added a little extra bacon and blue cheese crumbles. It's excellent served at an outdoor BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I think it needs a bit of crunch texture and color, some celery or other crunchy vegetable (red pepper?, carrot? chives?) but otherwise, this is very, very good for blue cheese AND bacon lovers. A great main dish or addition to any BBQ. Just remember to add the bacon close to serving time. Otherwise it gets mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Thank you for posting this awesome recipe. I needed a recipe for potato salad that didn’t call for Mayonnaise since I have a teen that gags at the thought of Mayo! I have made the recipe “as is” & it is great. Nothing needs to be changed. However, since we are all Bleu Cheese lovers, I added a little extra the second time I made it. I also added finely chopped celery and I used a 2 lb bag of chopped hash browns to make the dish extra fast & easy. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Excellent!!!Reduce the olive oil in half, you won't regret it. Great recipe, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This stuff was great! I Used a 10 oz. container of crumbled blue cheese, instead of the quantity the recipe recomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
TOO MUCH OIL!!! I had so much left over that didn't absorb. Eww! Otherwise, this recipe is great. I added celery, besides that next time I will cut back on the back a little on the bacon (personal preference). Didn't have enough green onions on hand, supplemented with red onion which was fine. The blue cheese flavor was very strong the first day, but mellowed out on day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Yum! Total hit of my July 4 party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Instead of adding extra oil to the dressing, use about a teaspoon of the bacon grease, instead. I have used Bragg's cider vinegar on this for an outstanding finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Like others, I cut back on the oil and added more blue cheese. It was unique, a good change of pace! I love blue cheese and am always looking for new ways to incorporate. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States