Blue Cheese Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
What a Great Snack! We always order these while were out. There is never enough. Very Easy to make. We used blue cheese crumbles and Cream cheese w/ chives. we also double breaded them. Love em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I added a small amount of cream cheese to the mixture and did not bother to try to bread them, just topped the mixture with the bread crumbs. Used a mix of green and red peppers. Letmetellya, DO NOT use red! I took a small bite of a red one and thought ok, not too bad.....afterburn from HADES! I handed it over to the hub. He thought he was tough enough. I said watch out for the afterburn, he said it's not bad. I left the room for a moment and when I returned he was blowing like a bull and had tears in his eyes. I was biting my swollen plumped lips to keep from laughing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Speaking strictly about the baking temp/time and breading recipe here, since I modified the construction and used a different filling: for non-fried poppers, this works really well! It's true that the breading doesn't stick super-well to the poppers, but I found that if I was very gentle with the unbaked poppers, I was able to keep most of the breading attached. They're not fried, and so you're not going to get a thick fried-popper coating. Next time I might add slightly less milk to see if that helps. I found the panko slightly stale-tasting, but liked the nice crunch it added, so might use a mix of panko and traditional bread crumbs next time. Finally, the construction as written seemed a bit elaborate; I just cut the stem end off each pepper, sliced down one side so I could de-seed, filled with cheese and wrapped the pepper around the filling. (I used Boursin with chive and garlic, which I had left over from something else.) Those modifications aside, this recipe produced a nicely browned and crispy popper, with the pepper itself cooked just right. Thanks for the recipe; our pepper plants are going nuts this year so we'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
yum! Even the people who are scared by the thought of a jalapeno really enjoyed this (I did make sure to scrape all of the seeds out though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taster lg
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These were a hit at the super bowl party! My spin is in rather than cut in half I cut off at the bottom, stem part and hollowed out with a potatoe peeler and used a zip lock bag as a pastry bag to insert the cheese into the peppers. I got creative with the cheese, blue cheese, cream cheese and 4 cheese mixture. The 4 star rating is that the Panko did not stick to the pepper well. Next time I will use bread crumbs and try to scrape the outside of the pepper with a grater of some sort, hopefully this will help the flour, egg & bread crumbs to stick better. This was my first try and it was appreciated by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I enjoyed making and eating these. I substituted small sweet peppers because I'm the only one who like shot peppers but I can't wait to try it with halapenos some time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This tasted really good but the panko bread crumbs didn't stick good at all. It also took a lot longer than I thought. I would definitely try this recipe if you like the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These are very good. As written the recipe is a 4.5 but with minor improvement it is a five. The other reviewer was right and the panko didn't stick well to the peppers so I dredged them in flour before the egg. This helped significantly but I also decided not to replace the top half of the pepper because the panko stuck better to the cheesed top. I used a VERY potent raw milk roquefort, so with half of the peppers I mixed the roquefort with some neufchatel cheese to tame it. The mixed batch were my favorites and my boyfriend enjoyed the stinkier variety. Overall, very delicious and I like them better than "poppers" with cheddar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Olive oiled my hands as suggested and also wore gloves and had no burning. Combined 1/4 cup bleu cheese + 1/4 cup 4 cheese mixture + 1/4 cup cream cheese and I loved them! My husband would like them better with a milder bleu cheese. Dipped all peppers into 1/2 cup wondra and then dipped all peppers into 2 eggs (clean gloves after) and then dipped all into 1 cup plain bread crumbs. I made a treat for my dog by forming a patty out of the leftover crumbs and eggs and cooked in microwave for 2 minutes. These work very well made ahead! Cook at 350F for 30 minutes and then remove from oven. When ready to serve, sprinkle with a bit more 4 cheese combo and put under broiler as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
this recipe is great! i only made a few adjustments. I never use more than 1/2 a teaspoon salt and pepper, because it can ruin the recipe. You can always add more salt and pepper to yasye when the dish is finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States