Blue Cheese Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These are very good. As written the recipe is a 4.5 but with minor improvement it is a five. The other reviewer was right and the panko didn't stick well to the peppers so I dredged them in flour before the egg. This helped significantly but I also decided not to replace the top half of the pepper because the panko stuck better to the cheesed top. I used a VERY potent raw milk roquefort, so with half of the peppers I mixed the roquefort with some neufchatel cheese to tame it. The mixed batch were my favorites and my boyfriend enjoyed the stinkier variety. Overall, very delicious and I like them better than "poppers" with cheddar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Olive oiled my hands as suggested and also wore gloves and had no burning. Combined 1/4 cup bleu cheese + 1/4 cup 4 cheese mixture + 1/4 cup cream cheese and I loved them! My husband would like them better with a milder bleu cheese. Dipped all peppers into 1/2 cup wondra and then dipped all peppers into 2 eggs (clean gloves after) and then dipped all into 1 cup plain bread crumbs. I made a treat for my dog by forming a patty out of the leftover crumbs and eggs and cooked in microwave for 2 minutes. These work very well made ahead! Cook at 350F for 30 minutes and then remove from oven. When ready to serve, sprinkle with a bit more 4 cheese combo and put under broiler as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This tasted really good but the panko bread crumbs didn't stick good at all. It also took a lot longer than I thought. I would definitely try this recipe if you like the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Speaking strictly about the baking temp/time and breading recipe here, since I modified the construction and used a different filling: for non-fried poppers, this works really well! It's true that the breading doesn't stick super-well to the poppers, but I found that if I was very gentle with the unbaked poppers, I was able to keep most of the breading attached. They're not fried, and so you're not going to get a thick fried-popper coating. Next time I might add slightly less milk to see if that helps. I found the panko slightly stale-tasting, but liked the nice crunch it added, so might use a mix of panko and traditional bread crumbs next time. Finally, the construction as written seemed a bit elaborate; I just cut the stem end off each pepper, sliced down one side so I could de-seed, filled with cheese and wrapped the pepper around the filling. (I used Boursin with chive and garlic, which I had left over from something else.) Those modifications aside, this recipe produced a nicely browned and crispy popper, with the pepper itself cooked just right. Thanks for the recipe; our pepper plants are going nuts this year so we'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taster lg
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These were a hit at the super bowl party! My spin is in rather than cut in half I cut off at the bottom, stem part and hollowed out with a potatoe peeler and used a zip lock bag as a pastry bag to insert the cheese into the peppers. I got creative with the cheese, blue cheese, cream cheese and 4 cheese mixture. The 4 star rating is that the Panko did not stick to the pepper well. Next time I will use bread crumbs and try to scrape the outside of the pepper with a grater of some sort, hopefully this will help the flour, egg & bread crumbs to stick better. This was my first try and it was appreciated by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
What a Great Snack! We always order these while were out. There is never enough. Very Easy to make. We used blue cheese crumbles and Cream cheese w/ chives. we also double breaded them. Love em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I added a small amount of cream cheese to the mixture and did not bother to try to bread them, just topped the mixture with the bread crumbs. Used a mix of green and red peppers. Letmetellya, DO NOT use red! I took a small bite of a red one and thought ok, not too bad.....afterburn from HADES! I handed it over to the hub. He thought he was tough enough. I said watch out for the afterburn, he said it's not bad. I left the room for a moment and when I returned he was blowing like a bull and had tears in his eyes. I was biting my swollen plumped lips to keep from laughing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
My boyfriend is a huge fan of blue cheese and loved these! I didn't even attempt to dip them in breading and just mixed some butter with the panko and sprinkled it on top of halved peppers. Putting them back together sounds iffy. great recipe for a new filling for poppers but the breading needs reworking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerostar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
yum! Even the people who are scared by the thought of a jalapeno really enjoyed this (I did make sure to scrape all of the seeds out though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The blue cheese is a little overpowering. I mixed cream cheese with blue cheese and got a more subtle flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States