Blue Cheese Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
this recipe is great! i only made a few adjustments. I never use more than 1/2 a teaspoon salt and pepper, because it can ruin the recipe. You can always add more salt and pepper to yasye when the dish is finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I enjoyed making and eating these. I substituted small sweet peppers because I'm the only one who like shot peppers but I can't wait to try it with halapenos some time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
The overall idea of bleu cheese and jalapeno with a little crunch on the outside is great. However, this recipe needs some serious overhaul. Panko didn't stick... bleu cheese needs some help on the inside to be a good companion to some kind of crunch. I could recommend lots of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The blue cheese is a little overpowering. I mixed cream cheese with blue cheese and got a more subtle flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I added a small amount of cream cheese to the mixture and did not bother to try to bread them, just topped the mixture with the bread crumbs. Used a mix of green and red peppers. Letmetellya, DO NOT use red! I took a small bite of a red one and thought ok, not too bad.....afterburn from HADES! I handed it over to the hub. He thought he was tough enough. I said watch out for the afterburn, he said it's not bad. I left the room for a moment and when I returned he was blowing like a bull and had tears in his eyes. I was biting my swollen plumped lips to keep from laughing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Speaking strictly about the baking temp/time and breading recipe here, since I modified the construction and used a different filling: for non-fried poppers, this works really well! It's true that the breading doesn't stick super-well to the poppers, but I found that if I was very gentle with the unbaked poppers, I was able to keep most of the breading attached. They're not fried, and so you're not going to get a thick fried-popper coating. Next time I might add slightly less milk to see if that helps. I found the panko slightly stale-tasting, but liked the nice crunch it added, so might use a mix of panko and traditional bread crumbs next time. Finally, the construction as written seemed a bit elaborate; I just cut the stem end off each pepper, sliced down one side so I could de-seed, filled with cheese and wrapped the pepper around the filling. (I used Boursin with chive and garlic, which I had left over from something else.) Those modifications aside, this recipe produced a nicely browned and crispy popper, with the pepper itself cooked just right. Thanks for the recipe; our pepper plants are going nuts this year so we'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
My boyfriend is a huge fan of blue cheese and loved these! I didn't even attempt to dip them in breading and just mixed some butter with the panko and sprinkled it on top of halved peppers. Putting them back together sounds iffy. great recipe for a new filling for poppers but the breading needs reworking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerostar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by Taster lg
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These were a hit at the super bowl party! My spin is in rather than cut in half I cut off at the bottom, stem part and hollowed out with a potatoe peeler and used a zip lock bag as a pastry bag to insert the cheese into the peppers. I got creative with the cheese, blue cheese, cream cheese and 4 cheese mixture. The 4 star rating is that the Panko did not stick to the pepper well. Next time I will use bread crumbs and try to scrape the outside of the pepper with a grater of some sort, hopefully this will help the flour, egg & bread crumbs to stick better. This was my first try and it was appreciated by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
yum! Even the people who are scared by the thought of a jalapeno really enjoyed this (I did make sure to scrape all of the seeds out though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
What a Great Snack! We always order these while were out. There is never enough. Very Easy to make. We used blue cheese crumbles and Cream cheese w/ chives. we also double breaded them. Love em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States