Blue Cheese Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Nope, it's not pretty, but it IS pretty good! This was my second (and expected last) time trying this recipe; after all, I have another blue cheese potatoes recipe with rosemary that's A+++, but it's a bit more labor & time intensive, and I wasn't in the mood for the extra work. So, dusted off the mandolin, took tip to add onions later in cooking, kept a bit of bacon grease in pan with butter, added S&P early in cooking, and once potatoes were done (@30 mins.), sprinkled bleu cheese over top with bacon, covered over min. heat to let cheese melt slowly, and YUMMMMMM! One other big hint: I used my largest Le Creuset braiser which helped spead out pots & onions to cook better/faster. Plan to tweak this a bit more the NEXT time I make it, but that'll just be for my taste -- not 'cause the recipe needs more tweaking beyond what I did last night. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Excellent! Made as directed and can see making them over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was so good, it was almost too good. It was delicious and easy. Next time I'll try olive oil instead of butter, leave out the bacon, and reduce the amount of cheese....because it's so rich. It's great if you're not watching calories, or if you just decide to treat yourself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Not a big hit at my house. The onions cooked a lot faster than the potatoes and, although I like blue cheese, it was just overpowering. It also made for a funky smell in the house lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Wow!!! Incredible! Broke up the bacon in food processor. Added some chicken broth to keep from sticking to pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Loved these..thanks for sharing!! I quadrupled the recipe. Being PA Dutch we love our fried potatoes...these were different and oh so good. Even my children liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Amazing! Have made this 2x now. The second time I microwaved the sliced potatoes for 3 min's before browning them --- just took too long last time and potatoes were still a bit crunchy. Will for sure make this again! Thinking about trying it w/ sweet potatoes and gorgonzola cheese for the next go around! Great dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
These are amazing. My husband who is not a bleu cheese fan raved about them. I made them a second time and didn't have enough bleu cheese so I added 2 tbsp. of cream cheese and they were just as amazing! The crispier the potoates the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My husband LOVES blue cheese and thought these were the BEST!!! Outstanding!! Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These were awesome. I agree with the person that said take your time because we love the potatoes nice and brown on the outside. I also added some white wine and chicken stock while they were cooking to let them soak up some additional flavor while getting brown on the outside. All in all I probably cooked them at medium for an hour, but we all raved about them during the entire meal and my husband I fought over who was going to get to the leftovers the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States