Blue Cheese Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I prefer to boil the potatoes for about 10 minutes first before adding them to the onions in the skillet. I like to add a little chopped garlic too. It's excellent without the bacon as well, so usually make it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Really good. This is an excellent dish. I precooked the potatoes in the microwave. I separated the dish before adding the cheese - blue cheese for some, cheddar for the family members who don't appreciate blue cheese. The cheddar version would be great with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Nope, it's not pretty, but it IS pretty good! This was my second (and expected last) time trying this recipe; after all, I have another blue cheese potatoes recipe with rosemary that's A+++, but it's a bit more labor & time intensive, and I wasn't in the mood for the extra work. So, dusted off the mandolin, took tip to add onions later in cooking, kept a bit of bacon grease in pan with butter, added S&P early in cooking, and once potatoes were done (@30 mins.), sprinkled bleu cheese over top with bacon, covered over min. heat to let cheese melt slowly, and YUMMMMMM! One other big hint: I used my largest Le Creuset braiser which helped spead out pots & onions to cook better/faster. Plan to tweak this a bit more the NEXT time I make it, but that'll just be for my taste -- not 'cause the recipe needs more tweaking beyond what I did last night. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Excellent! Made as directed and can see making them over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was so good, it was almost too good. It was delicious and easy. Next time I'll try olive oil instead of butter, leave out the bacon, and reduce the amount of cheese....because it's so rich. It's great if you're not watching calories, or if you just decide to treat yourself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Not a big hit at my house. The onions cooked a lot faster than the potatoes and, although I like blue cheese, it was just overpowering. It also made for a funky smell in the house lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Wow!!! Incredible! Broke up the bacon in food processor. Added some chicken broth to keep from sticking to pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Loved these..thanks for sharing!! I quadrupled the recipe. Being PA Dutch we love our fried potatoes...these were different and oh so good. Even my children liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Amazing! Have made this 2x now. The second time I microwaved the sliced potatoes for 3 min's before browning them --- just took too long last time and potatoes were still a bit crunchy. Will for sure make this again! Thinking about trying it w/ sweet potatoes and gorgonzola cheese for the next go around! Great dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
These are amazing. My husband who is not a bleu cheese fan raved about them. I made them a second time and didn't have enough bleu cheese so I added 2 tbsp. of cream cheese and they were just as amazing! The crispier the potoates the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States