Blue Cheese Fettucine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Instead of zucchini I used some sauteed spinach, onions, mushrooms and chicken. As the picture has I used penne pasta too. It was excellent!!! I'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I used spinach-flavored fettucine, which provided a great extra flavor element. The blue cheese taste was surprisingly mild, in the best possible way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I din't use the zucchini because I didn't have any. All in all I thought this was very good. Next time I will try adding chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I actually made this some time ago and gave it 3 stars. But after more thought, I'm revising it to 2 (barely edible) and I'm going to add why. Something about the zucchini is horrible. I generally like zucchini, but sauteing(sp?) it made it squishy and well...horrible flavored. It utterly ruined the sauce, which would have been fine without the zucchini. I like raw zucchini and zucchini bread--my mom said this is just what cooked zucchini tastes like, nothing to be done for it, but I'm not sure. I've had cooked zucchini in other things in restaurants (usually stew) and it did not overwhelm in those dishes. So my thought here is this: make sure you liked the flavor of the sauteed zucchini BEFORE adding the rest of your ingredients. I don't know what to tell you if your zucchini is squishy and gross--but that will save you the ingredients for your cream sauce (which can be made just fine without zucchini if you need to). I wish I'd done that, we wound up throwing out more than half of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I substituted yellow squash for the zucchini - not as colorful but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
You absolutely must add flour - the recipe as it is makes a soupy salad dressing consistency. I used broccolli instead of zuchinni and linguini rather than fettucinni. It was OK, but I'm not sure it was worth the entire tub of blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Outstanding! I sautéed the zucc just before serving so it would still be crisp. I also simmered the sauce with a few parm rinds, so added just a smattering of grated on top. We actually had it twice in a row by request, ur demand, actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
hi, i submitted this recipe, and i've just realised that it's been misprinted! it should have 2 large zucchini's in there, not 1! and i use courgette's here in northern europe which tend to be much bigger than the zucchini's i've ever found in southern european countries or abroad. hope this was of help! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I really didn't think this was good at all. I followed the recipe to a tee, and I still thought it was pretty bad. The worst part was the sauce, tasted dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Loved it! Put some mushrooms into the mix and it turned out great. Did sub olive oil for the butter and did add a little flour (just a pinch) to make the sauce a little thicker. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States