Blue Cheese Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is really a great basic dip. i leave out the garlic salt, i use a PINCH of garlic powder. i use 1/2 to 3/4 c of MAYO and 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 c sour cream. you definitely need to use MAYO for this, miracle whip/salad dressing is completely different and will just water it down, that could be what is giving some the watery results. I add freshly ground black pepper and add extra blue cheese, we like the flavor of blue cheese. Definitely let it sit for a day, or overnight if possible. Also great for dipping with anything, from chips, veggies, or topping on a potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
add 1/2 C cream cheese to thincken it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLAUDIA47

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Just wonderful on pita chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed this and my guests seemed to like it too. Could be mixed with a bit of milk (or buttermilk/cream) and used as a homemade blue cheese dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good! Certainly much better than any store-bought bleu cheese dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This dip really is a great basic recipe. I usually make it and add extra blue cheese, because i really like blue cheese. I leave out the dried parsley simply because i do not care for it, instead i add some fresh black pepper. You definitely need to let it sit overnight to let the flavors marry! Once the flavors are able to come together it is AMAZING. If you try to eat it right after you put it together you will lose the full effect of what the flavors can be. Also, you want to use real mayonnaise and not salad dressing. The salad dressing will make it watery and it will not hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very good-especially the next day after the flavors have blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. The green onions are a nice addition. I did make mine with low-fat sour cream and mayo. Great dip for carrots, celery, red peppers and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is really an amazing dip. I really, really, really do not like blue cheese but made this because my husband loves it and we both can't stop eating it. I used Maytag blue cheese which is somewhat pricey but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Zavoral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This dip was so good. My husband made the best wings for super bowl and this dip was perfect with them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States