Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Wow! This was absolutely delicious! I did tweak this recipe just a little and it turned out scrumptious. Our grocery store was out of Filet mignon, so I used a t-bone steak. We don't drink, so I substituted the port wine with 100% grape juice. I also used a regular red onion instead of minced white... which had good flavor. When the sauce was done cooking - I strained the pieces out of it and set it aside. I cooked my steak on the stove top, and it turned out great. Also, I didn't have any panko bread, so I google searched a recipe and made my own! The blue cheese and panko mixture was a nice compliment to the sauce. I made whipped potatoes with sour cream, butter, some reg salt and garlic salt. I used the sauce to cover the steak and potatoes. I topped the meal off with a side of glazed baby carrots. My husband and I both agreed, this meal was much better than most steak houses! It was a perfect valentines dinner - for 2 :) I would highly recommend this meal to anyone, especially if you are looking to impress people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Wow - this was delicious. Used La Crema Pinot Noir rather than the port and it was GREAT!!! We do not eat a lot of red meat & my 2 toddlers loved it...not to mention my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Wow. the blue cheese taste is so subtle with the sauce...this was my first reduction sauce...the recipe should add that you need to strain the onions and herbs out fo the sauce . It still tasted wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Great Valentine's meal. DH enjoyed it. Made without the topping and sauce for kids who loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This recipe was incredible. I'd never made Filet Mignon before and was a little nervous because I've heard how finicky it can be to cook. I followed this recipe exactly as it was stated (used a meat thermometer to check for the doneness rather than using the timer) and it came out just perfect. The meat was so tender I probably could've cut through it with a butter knife. I paired this with garlic mashed potatoes and parmesan asparagus and it made for the best Valentine's dinner I've ever made (or had for that matter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made this for Valentines Day and it was so easy and Delicious! Everyone loved it. The wine sauce was especially good, I ended up adding some gorgonzola to the sauce at the end- you have to try it! I layered the steaks with the port wine sauce and then added the cheese and breadcrumb mixture and broiled. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very easy, very delicious! The beef was so tender. I've never cooked beef tenderloin in the oven before now and I'll never grill it again after trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Awsome, it felt like we were eating at a steak house! The port wine sauce was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
very good,i used garlic and herb breadcrumbs instead for panko and Clos Du Bois Zinfandel instead of port and then we drank it with dinner yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kizkizibt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States