Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I followed the original recipe, and it exceeded my expectations. A wonderful blend of flavors, the sauce was rich and hearty. Reminded me of a meal you'd get at a five star restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The cheese is very, very over powering. Otherwise, pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Wonderful. Admittedly I did not follow the entire recipe but just the bones. I am allergic to onions so that was out. We didn't have blue cheese so I used fresh Parma/Reg and the sauce burnt so I ommited that completely. The meat was wonderful and the topping rocked! I wish I could have followed 100% but it was perfect anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I give four stars with an asterisks. I dont know how people could cook meat in the oven with straight salt and pepper....bland bluh. I did however, go salt and pepper and cook rib eye on the grill. I topped steak after one flip with a light layer of grey poupon and the bleu cheese crust. AWESOME. I do have to note the cut I tried in the oven was a club tenderloin...a poor mans filet if you will. Nonetheless, it was not good at all...go figure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice GrillMaster Burt
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
My husband didn't stop raving about this steak. I used Sirlion instead of Filet. He said it was better than any restaurant steak he'd ever eaten! Whoohoo! Thanks for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Easy sauce, a majority of these ingredients should be a staple in your pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeenO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Wow. This came out perfect. I wouldn't change a thing on this recipe. It will be a Valentine's Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Wow. This was absolutely delicious and very easy. I made it for my boyfriend for Valentine's day (he LOVES blue cheese). I used a 1-pound New York Strip. After searing in my iron skillet, I baked for 10 minutes and broiled the topping for 3 minutes, which was close to perfect for medium-rare. I left it in the skillet for all three phases, which worked great. While the meat was resting for 15 minutes I broiled the asparagus in olive oil and lemon pepper, which was perfect timing. A starter of shrimp cocktail, spring mix with slivered almonds, craisins and sweet grape tomatoes in a white wine vinaigrette, and garlic mashed potatoes rounded out the meal, paired with a lovely French Bordeaux, and "chocolate bar fondue" finished it off. Delicious. I'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Manus Kuepker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Restaurant quality recipe. One comment I would make is that I would double the sauce. As shown in the picture, I served it on a "bed" of mashed potatoes. Although, I had sauce it would have been awesome to have more sauce. Also, I used a chunkier blue cheese and didn't broil it, but baked the topping on top of the steak. It was awesome..we had large crumbles of blue cheese to eat with steak. I would use this in entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Blackburn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Made this for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day dinner. We both loved it! The blue cheese added an awesome flavor to the perfectly cooked meat. The only thing I changed was the amount of time I had the steaks in the oven. He likes his rare and I like mine pretty red. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the tea. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zainny8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States