Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I just made it this past weekend and it was fantastic! I didn't have port wine, so I used Malbec and I added mushrooms and that gave the dish a great touch! I will be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by centerofme
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Side dish - green beans cooked in butter 2 garlic cloves and some brown sugar. Personally I thought the sauce was a bit gross... I would consider skipping it, maybe do a coffee and black peppercorn rub or just season your steak as you like... For this reason we put the sauce on the side to try it both ways. The blue cheese panko was kinda interesting and good. The presentation of steak on top of mashed potato looks good but makes it weird to cut the steak but .. Still good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe turned out great, but next time I'll have to shorten the cook time, my steaks came out well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Works out perfectly and my guests were delighted (so was I). One tip is NOT to put the whole frying pan into the oven, but transfer steaks to a high quality cookie sheet or pan before putting in the oven. Then you can work on the sauce in the frying pan while the steaks cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I didn't use the port sauce but the blue cheese on top of the steak was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe was ok. I added some wild mushrooms to the sauce for added flavor and it was good, although next time I think I'll skip the sauce entirely. The steaks with the blue cheese topping, all melty and crisp on top, had enough flavor without the sauce. I also used tenderloins as the butcher was out of filets, and they were just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lici
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this tonight and it was absolutely fantastic. I did use ribeye instead of filet and seasoned it with a steak seasoning before cooking it. I also made mushroom risotto and green beans as a side. Planning to make it again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Did the original searing on the grill then completed in the oven. Was cautious about the sauce but made it as directed anyway & it was really good! Used blue cheese as directed & also made goat cheese w/ panko mixture. Prepared half the steaks with the goat cheese & half with the blu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Delish! We used NY strip. Perfect timing on the steaks. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Amazing!!!!! used a nice Merlot instead of port wine. Great when coupled with artichhokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States