Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOOZOGASSIR
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Quite delicious! The fresh thyme is essential. We also made a few changes. First we used our favorite Merlot instead of Port Wine which was still fabulous. We also marinated the steaks in a mixture of Merlot, Worcestershire, Mustard and some spices. Even though we made it for 2, we used the entire sauce recipe. We also used high quality Gorgonzola cheese since we prefer this. For those of you not used to cooking steaks in the oven, remember when you're searing you aren't cooking the steak. Just sear it until the color is brown, otherwise you'll have grey steak from the oven. Also, we have a gas oven that cooks a bit high so we reduced the cooking time of the steaks to 10 minutes and 3 minutes in the broiler. We used a NY Strip and a Ribeye and they tasted wonderful. It's also important to let the steaks rest after the oven so the juices redistribute so don't forget this part. We mashed red skin potatoes and added 1 tbs of the gorgonzola cheese and 1 tbs of heavy cream (you can sub milk) for the right consistency. We also served with asparagus that we grilled on our foreman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was fabulous. The end result was as good as anything we have had in a 5 star restaurant. I made them exactly as the recipe stated (using Gorgonzola Blue Cheese). Although, I only made 2 filets and didn't change the amount of the sauce, there was plenty that way. I was concerned about them cooking too much, so I quickly seared them, then baked them for 10 minutes. I broiled them (not too close to the heat, the cheese will burn) for 4 minutes. Then I turned off the oven and put them on the bottom rack for one minute. We like our steak on the rarer side, so that extra minute was not needed. The steaks were still pink in the middle, but could have been cooked just a little less. I served this with the Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes (submitted by Kathleen Burton) that I modified a bit (see my review), a caeser salad, and a bottle of Stag's Leap 2003 Cabernet Sauvignon. The meal was to die for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Absolutely amazing. I used rib eye steaks instead of filet, but I followed the cooking time suggested and they came out perfectly. My husband could not stop saying how good they were. To save on dishwashing, I just broiled the steaks right in the cast iron skillet instead of transferring them to a baking sheet--it worked great. I served the steaks with a green salad (topped with orange sections, cranberries, toasted pecans and a light vinaigrette), a shitake mushroom risotto and sourdough bread. The best meal we've had in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Oh. My. God. This was fantastic! One of the best entrees I've ever made--and that's saying a lot. I made the recipe exactly as it said, except instead of filet mignon, I found beef tenderloins (2" thick) at Sam's Club. The instructions were perfect! What a lovely entree for Valentine's Day. Thank you!!! I served it accompanied by sauteed fresh sliced button mushrooms. Yum! While I've seen others had success with "regular" breadcrumbs, I'm glad I used panko. Mixed with the crumbled blue cheese -- inspired! The fresh thyme was wonderful, plus I used fresh (not jarred) garlic. I'll make this again, especially for company. Though I'm not sure I'd do the port wine sauce. The meat as otherwise prepared didn't seem to need it. However, if you do use it, boil it down until the liquid is almost all gone. This was as good or better as any fine restaurant's steak entree! And so easy. Very impressive. I'm sure you and anyone you serve this to will go nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was phenomenal and easy to do. The flavor is not too strong and it compliments the steak so well. I made my own "panko" crumbs by just running some white bread through the grater on the food processor and drying in the oven for a few minutes. Much better than the crispy, canned kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Wonderful recipe. We cooked them on the grill & then brought in and put just blue cheese on them & put under broiler. I did use a strainer to separate the actual sauce from the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Pretty tasty! I need to work on my "filet minion cooking skills" but everything that actually went INTO the recipe was FANTASTIC! If you are experienced in cooking filet (like I was not) then you should DEFINITELY try this recipe. I served it with the Garlic Broccoli with Cashews recipe also found on allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkionwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
easy and fabulous recipe for a special occasion. only modification I made was to saute some shitake mushrooms and added them to port wine sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Newmarket, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This recipe was a hit! I would recommend sticking with the posted cooking times to achieve medium on steaks that are over 1.5 inches thick. The only change I made (and loved) was to use 1/2 c. of shallots in the sauce instead of white onion! Thank you HebeGebe for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Did this recipe yesterday for Christmas dinner. My husband hated it - he said his filet was okay but the sauce was absolutely horrible. We ended up throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rudolph, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States