Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe! The port wine sauce was suprisingly on the sweet side, but complimented the steak and blue cheese wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Excellent and easy! The sauce was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have been making this recipe for 2 years and finally got around to reviewing. This is nothing short of INCREDIBLE! No changes are needed to the original recipe. Follow it to the T and you will have a meal worthy of any high end restaurant. I always double the sauce so there is extra to put on mashed potatos. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I seared in a cast iron skillet for 1 1/2 min. each side. Borrowing from Alton Brown I then put the skillet in a 500 degree oven for about eight minutes. They measured 130 when I took them out. After resting for about 10 min. they were a little more than medium rare I think and that bothered me but they were still very tender. I made the port reduction the day before. That and the bleu cheese-panko topping really made this dish special. I suspect the port sauce profits from sitting a day in the fridge like mine did. The flavors were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is an incredible meal. We will be having it as a special treat for Christmas dinner. I recommend serving it with mashed potatoes and sauteed mushrooms. I have even omitted the fresh herbs and it still works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Easy recipe. I didn't have port wine on hand so I used merlot and it was still excellent. I made these for my family and expected my youngest stepson to object to the blue cheese/panko mix, but was happily surprised to see that he ate the whole thing (including the panko/blue cheese mix). The whole family gave it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent. I only had enough blue cheese for 1 steak and used goat for the other. My husband liked it with the blue but LOVED it with the goat cheese. Said the blue had too much of a bite with the sauce. The sauce was excellent. I didn't have garlic (used it up at lunch time) but was good without it. This is "a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Although the recipe is WONDERFUL! even if I don't use the panko and cheese, I always refer to this recipe as the ONLY way to cook a great filet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andredandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States