Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Awesome! Only thing I changed was the meat cut. Shoulder Tender Medallions were excellent for this and fit better in my family budget. I no longer have a reason to visit a steak house unless I want to pay 10x as much just to be waited on. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wonderful! All I had on hand was Merlot, but other than that I made right by the recipe. Will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
So hubby was worried when he saw that I was putting a steak in the oven instead of grilling it. But have no fear...first bite.."Wow, that's good......that's really good". Never doubt Allrecipies! I made as written, added some sauteed mushrooms. Very expensive dish, but a very nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made this for Valentine's day- not to difficult to make even for me who is not great at making steak. The only change I would make is adding more beef broth and port. It says to reduce it until half cup but just the onions take up half cup and I liked having more sauce to pour over the steak. I served it as pictured over creamy red mashed potatoes, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was really good. Husband liked it a lot too even though he is not a fan of blue cheese. My only complaint was that the wine did not add much flavor to the sauce, tasted mainly like the beef broth. I will probably play around with this recipe, but overall really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Excllent! very tender, great flavor! got rave reviews for my Valentine dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
i made this for our valentines dinner and my wife who just likes plain steak with nothing on it raved about this recipe. the only change i made was not putting the steaks on a cookie sheet and just used the oven safe pan for the broiling. less dishes that way. there was one special treat about this recipe...all the topping that melts off the steak makes a great crispy grilled cheese when it hits the pan. mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Grivner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this for Valentine's Dinner and it turned out amazing. It's so simple to make and the flavors are incredible. I definitely recommend making the sauce ahead of time as it's the most time consuming part of this recipe. I made garlic mashed potatoes and parmesan asparagus to go with it. I took the advice of doubling the sauce recipe and putting it over the potatoes! My fiance loved this and it will definitely become a regular recipe at our dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Wow! This was absolutely delicious! I did tweak this recipe just a little and it turned out scrumptious. Our grocery store was out of Filet mignon, so I used a t-bone steak. We don't drink, so I substituted the port wine with 100% grape juice. I also used a regular red onion instead of minced white... which had good flavor. When the sauce was done cooking - I strained the pieces out of it and set it aside. I cooked my steak on the stove top, and it turned out great. Also, I didn't have any panko bread, so I google searched a recipe and made my own! The blue cheese and panko mixture was a nice compliment to the sauce. I made whipped potatoes with sour cream, butter, some reg salt and garlic salt. I used the sauce to cover the steak and potatoes. I topped the meal off with a side of glazed baby carrots. My husband and I both agreed, this meal was much better than most steak houses! It was a perfect valentines dinner - for 2 :) I would highly recommend this meal to anyone, especially if you are looking to impress people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States