Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Easy sauce, a majority of these ingredients should be a staple in your pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeenO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Wow. This came out perfect. I wouldn't change a thing on this recipe. It will be a Valentine's Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Wow. This was absolutely delicious and very easy. I made it for my boyfriend for Valentine's day (he LOVES blue cheese). I used a 1-pound New York Strip. After searing in my iron skillet, I baked for 10 minutes and broiled the topping for 3 minutes, which was close to perfect for medium-rare. I left it in the skillet for all three phases, which worked great. While the meat was resting for 15 minutes I broiled the asparagus in olive oil and lemon pepper, which was perfect timing. A starter of shrimp cocktail, spring mix with slivered almonds, craisins and sweet grape tomatoes in a white wine vinaigrette, and garlic mashed potatoes rounded out the meal, paired with a lovely French Bordeaux, and "chocolate bar fondue" finished it off. Delicious. I'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Restaurant quality recipe. One comment I would make is that I would double the sauce. As shown in the picture, I served it on a "bed" of mashed potatoes. Although, I had sauce it would have been awesome to have more sauce. Also, I used a chunkier blue cheese and didn't broil it, but baked the topping on top of the steak. It was awesome..we had large crumbles of blue cheese to eat with steak. I would use this in entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Made this for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day dinner. We both loved it! The blue cheese added an awesome flavor to the perfectly cooked meat. The only thing I changed was the amount of time I had the steaks in the oven. He likes his rare and I like mine pretty red. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the tea. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zainny8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made just the steak. Seared the steak in a cast iron skillet and then baked in 350 degree oven. Turned out better than grilling or broiling them, because they were not dried out at all. My husband likes his well done and his turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
super fantastic- made as directed - thyme (didn't have it). Cant wait to make again and to serve it to friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were wow.. my husband said he's never ever had a steak that wasn't cooked on a grill come out this wonderful and taste so great.. I also loves the port wine sauce, I read others didn't but I thought it was terrific.. I may never go to another steakhouse again!! 100 stars x infinity!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great meal! Port wine sauce is a great contrast with the sharp blue cheese flavor. I served it with roasted new potatoes and chicken broth braised bok choi. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The guys gave it 3.5 stars, I gave it 4.5. The wine sauce was delicious. Easy and tasty! We had it for Christmas dinner 2011 with garlic mashed potatoes, salad and homemade rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States