Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This review is for the reduction only. I have to say this just didn’t work for me. I reduced the broth/wine mixture further than specified in the recipe and still had a very liquidy sauce. I would have had a better result had I stopped reducing and thickened this a bit with a corn starch/water slurry. Consequently this just dripped off the steak and onto the plate. So, I doubt I’ll be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgbeck
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Nice combination. I also made the dinner for two and made the sauce recipe for four. Used olive oil on the steaks instead of vegetable oil. 15 minutes baking time is a little too long for medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Simply put, this is fantastic. Loads of flavour. You have to make this. You will not be dissapointed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was sooooo amazingly yummy! For as wonderful as it was, it was really simple to make. There were two of us eating and recipe calls for 4 servings. I made it as is and we have dinner the next night too. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My husband gave this 5 stars, I would give it 3, so we will split the difference and call it 4. It was tasty, but the blue cheese overpowered the beef, and I didn't like the texture of the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I followed the original recipe, and it exceeded my expectations. A wonderful blend of flavors, the sauce was rich and hearty. Reminded me of a meal you'd get at a five star restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The cheese is very, very over powering. Otherwise, pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Wonderful. Admittedly I did not follow the entire recipe but just the bones. I am allergic to onions so that was out. We didn't have blue cheese so I used fresh Parma/Reg and the sauce burnt so I ommited that completely. The meat was wonderful and the topping rocked! I wish I could have followed 100% but it was perfect anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I give four stars with an asterisks. I dont know how people could cook meat in the oven with straight salt and pepper....bland bluh. I did however, go salt and pepper and cook rib eye on the grill. I topped steak after one flip with a light layer of grey poupon and the bleu cheese crust. AWESOME. I do have to note the cut I tried in the oven was a club tenderloin...a poor mans filet if you will. Nonetheless, it was not good at all...go figure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice B.
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
My husband didn't stop raving about this steak. I used Sirlion instead of Filet. He said it was better than any restaurant steak he'd ever eaten! Whoohoo! Thanks for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States