Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Made this last night, loved the blue cheese topping, and also loved the sauce (I used Merlot instead of port), however, I think the 2 together are 'too much'. I will use these toppings again, but not together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Made this exactly as written and it was SO good--ten times better than any steak I have ever eaten at a restaurant, including expensive steakhouses. There was lots of flavor in this. Thank you so much for the recipe. This will be the go to dish for special occasions at my house now. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwissMiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
fantastic! I have never made filet mignon and it turned out wonderfull! I only did 2 things differently, I added a little water to the blue cheese/bread crumb mix so that it would stay on the filet a little better, and I used red wine, becuase I didn't have any port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Oh my gosh, this was so good. my husband said it ranked up there with one of the best steaks he has had. pretty impressive words considering this was my first attempt to cook a steak. This was so tender. I did change one thing and that was to use merlot for the sauce. It was great! I also increased the cooking time to 20 min for my husbands medium steak and 25 for my medium well. It was so easy yet elegant! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Oh my!!! As if it needs another review...but it was amazing. I could still taste it the whole next day. I'm not a red meat lover, but I was cooking for company so I was going out on a limb and I LOVED it. I am actually craving steak now. I cooked it according to the recipe -except- I used New York Strip instead of Fillet Mignon because I was too cheap to buy the good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
really fantastic - added garlic to the reduction sauce... sauce was incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2sup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this recipe for my boyfriend and his roommate. They both absolutely loved it. They said the combination of the Blue Cheese and the Port Wine Sauce was excellent. It was pretty simple even for a novice in the kitchen like me. I did cook the fillets a little longer because we like ours a little more done. I also paired this dish with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. I would recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAREBAER18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I would pay good money for this @ a resturant. Used gorgonzola instead- very easy- YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvfood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is an excellent steak recipe! I would suggest doubling the sauce if you like extra sauce, I find that I make a good amount when I only cook 2 steaks using this recipe. Otherwise a fabulous dish, one that I have made many times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
First of all thanks for this incredible receipe. I used the beef loin tenderloin. I panfryed them slowly over medium heat using EVO and butter. When the steaks were medium well I put the blue cheese and bread crumbs. I placed them in the broiler for 4 min. Awesome sauce for these steaks. We all loved them. My son is a Chef and he was totally impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States