Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
fantastic! I have never made filet mignon and it turned out wonderfull! I only did 2 things differently, I added a little water to the blue cheese/bread crumb mix so that it would stay on the filet a little better, and I used red wine, becuase I didn't have any port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Oh my gosh, this was so good. my husband said it ranked up there with one of the best steaks he has had. pretty impressive words considering this was my first attempt to cook a steak. This was so tender. I did change one thing and that was to use merlot for the sauce. It was great! I also increased the cooking time to 20 min for my husbands medium steak and 25 for my medium well. It was so easy yet elegant! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Oh my!!! As if it needs another review...but it was amazing. I could still taste it the whole next day. I'm not a red meat lover, but I was cooking for company so I was going out on a limb and I LOVED it. I am actually craving steak now. I cooked it according to the recipe -except- I used New York Strip instead of Fillet Mignon because I was too cheap to buy the good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
really fantastic - added garlic to the reduction sauce... sauce was incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2sup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this recipe for my boyfriend and his roommate. They both absolutely loved it. They said the combination of the Blue Cheese and the Port Wine Sauce was excellent. It was pretty simple even for a novice in the kitchen like me. I did cook the fillets a little longer because we like ours a little more done. I also paired this dish with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. I would recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAREBAER18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I would pay good money for this @ a resturant. Used gorgonzola instead- very easy- YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvfood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is an excellent steak recipe! I would suggest doubling the sauce if you like extra sauce, I find that I make a good amount when I only cook 2 steaks using this recipe. Otherwise a fabulous dish, one that I have made many times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
First of all thanks for this incredible receipe. I used the beef loin tenderloin. I panfryed them slowly over medium heat using EVO and butter. When the steaks were medium well I put the blue cheese and bread crumbs. I placed them in the broiler for 4 min. Awesome sauce for these steaks. We all loved them. My son is a Chef and he was totally impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Absolutely delish! I didnt have blue cheese on hand so I halved the bread crumbs and used fat free blue cheese dressing and it still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Incredible! Served it for Valentine's dinner for hubby and he swooned. It is tricky to make sure not to overcook with all the different steps. I cooked two 8 oz filets, about 1 1/2 inch thick. I took it out of the oven when it reached 130 degrees. Between popping it back under the broiler to melt the cheese, and letting it rest for 15 minutes (a must!) it continues to cook. A rule of thumb is to let it cook to about 5 degrees under what you want to compensate for the continued cooking while it rests. It was perfectly pink and melt in your mouth tender. Some reviewers wonder why to mess with an expensive cut like tenderloin (filet mignon) it's because while it's the most tender of the cuts of beef, it's not as high on flavor because there is very little marbleling, which is what gives the flavor. That's why in most restaurants filet mignon is served with some type of sauce, like bernaise. The port wine suace here was out of this world. I doubled it, and had very little left. This is truly a special meal sure to impress your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezer
Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States