Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I simply topped our fillet with bleu cheese. The recommendation on the cooking process is spot on. Quality of meat is important, of course, but this was as good as Morton's any day of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
We don't normally cook gourmet style steaks but thought I would give this a go. It was fun to prepare and foolproof. Very tastey. Paired with merlot, oven roasted vegetables and peas and carrots side dish. Out of 4 adults and 5 teenagers, all steaks were devoured except for 1/2 which was left by a teenager.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was just TOO MUCH. Very heavy. The cheese and the steak together were too fatty to be good. It gets two stars for the sauce, which I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Wow. Just wow. As others have said, I felt like I'd made something of restaurant-caliber. Perfect as is; not a single tweak necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Really great recipe! Hubby and I loved it and will likely make it again. For one of the steaks, I finely chopped some leftover sauteed mushrooms, and them added to the cheese/bread crumb mixture. This was a nice addition to the strong flavor of the gorgonzola. Both ways tasted really good. We grilled steaks before adding the topping and broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Easy to make & very tasty! I grilled the filet vs using the oven, but either way Im sure it is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
made this recipe recently. It flavor of the filet mignon was incredible and blue cheese and bread crumbs add a nice flavor to the meat. I got a little confuse on the sause in the beginning but i just put the sauce in with the meat when i broiled the filet mignon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I really liked this recipe a lot, but I did figure out that I don't like Thyme or Port Wine. I won't ever make a recipe with these ingredients again. Back to this recipe, I really enjoyed the blue cheese with bread crumbs topping the steak..that was fantastic! I really enjoyed the sauce, but again thyme and port wine are not my fav. I wonder if there is an alternative here. Overall really great though! My husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
YUM!!! We loved this-I served it with the Cheese Potato Puff and Creamed Peas and Onions recipes from this site and it made for a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gracewright90
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I substituted goat cheese for blue cheese as my boyfriend and I don't care for blue... it was fabulous :-) this is his favorite thing i've ever cooked for him! goes beautifully with my recipe for her smashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States