Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent. I only had enough blue cheese for 1 steak and used goat for the other. My husband liked it with the blue but LOVED it with the goat cheese. Said the blue had too much of a bite with the sauce. The sauce was excellent. I didn't have garlic (used it up at lunch time) but was good without it. This is "a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Although the recipe is WONDERFUL! even if I don't use the panko and cheese, I always refer to this recipe as the ONLY way to cook a great filet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andredandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is my and my husband's FAVORITE. I only make it for special occassions. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I have made this a few times. My only suggestion is take your time making the port wine reduction. Last night I sauted the onions longer and reduced to a little less than the recipe. It was amazing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krow
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
We loved this recipe and I would change nothing save possibly making the sauce a little thicker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Served this for a birthday dinner and everyone loved it. We grilled the fillets on the BBQ and then brought them in to broil them once the cheese/panko mix was added. Otherwise, we followed the recipe exactly. We are making it again for a group of 12. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is a "less is more" recipe. I made the sauce exactly as written (x3 for 10 people), and I suggest a LOT less onion. Once the sauce reduces it became an onion sauce rather than a wine sauce. For the topping, I suggest as small of a crust as you can put, which was just right. I've had this in restaurants with a thick crust and it's MUCH better with a light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is, hands down, the best restaurant I've found on All Recipes. The wine sauce is stellar, the bleu cheese excellent, and the filets are amazing. This is a must make dish for everyone on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was pretty good, but I kinda was looking for something a little more blue cheesy. The wine sauce was not good at all, so i wouldnt bother making it. But I liked the fillets all the same. Good basic recipe and a good way to bake steak. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States