Blue Cheese Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
A delicious and interesting twist on plain old cole slaw. I prepared this for two large summer parties recently and it was widely complimented. Several people went out of their way to say that they don't normally like cole slaw but loved this recipe. I did make a few changes, however. I increased the blue cheese to give it a little more bite...about 1/2 cup in the dressing with additional sprinkled on top. Also, I added salt and pepper (maybe this addition is just sort of "understood" but it wasn't in the recipe). Finally, I added about 3/4 cup of toasted, coarsely chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Best coleslaw I have ever tasted! The Blue Cheese gives this recipe a nice zest, and the grapes give it enough sweetness. I would have never believed I would enjoy coleslaw this much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Although I am not a particular "fan" of slaw, I did somewhat like this; however, I felt that it needed more blue cheese (of which I am a "fan"!); and even though I really like Dijon mustard, I felt that there was a bit of an overpowering taste of the mustard; maybe needs just a tad less. My husband liked it, most particularly because of the grapes! Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is really good! The blue cheese kind of melts into the dressing for a pretty subtle flavor. I halved the mustard and went light on the sugar, and we really enjoyed the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I made this for a friend's 4th of July party and it was a big hit. You have to like blue cheese but the flavor combinations were wonderful. I will definately make it again. Also it was wonderful the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Yum! This is the best cole slaw I have ever prepared. Very quick and easy. Instead of a bag mix I had red and green cabbage on hand and shredded it myself. This will be going to the next pitch-in or picnic. Kristine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Great slaw which turns Carolinas into a pseudo-gourmet meal! Omitted the carrots (grapes were sweet enough), and added a pinch of salt and pepper at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I thought this cole slaw was awesome! I love all of the flavors combined~ the blue cheese, the grapes, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshineinsa
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is a really simple delicious cole slaw! The blue cheese adds a creamy, tangy taste. A few things we changed: no grapes (for diet restrictions and also too sweet for my husband's taste); I halved the recipe and used less mayo and more mustard (again for diet restrictions); didn't have cider vinegar so used white wine vinegar which was fine. Also, instead of using just a cabbage cole slaw, I used a "stir fry" mix which was basically cabbage, carrots and zucchini. Served it with steak and it was absolutely perfect! See picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshineinsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Since I do not like blue cheese, I omitted the grapes and blue cheese and it made an awesome plain cole slaw! (My husband is not crazy about mayo so I only used 3/4 cup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States