Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
THANK YOU so much for this wonderful recipe! I made this for a party of 12. I was in awe of how it turned out-fab presentation!! I felt like I created a tavern on the green original. One note-do be very careful and WATCH the internal temp closely!! Remove from oven when it's 140 for medium-which was my goal. The temp will go up (for me it went 8 degrees more) while the tenderloin "rests" 10-15min prior to slicing and serving. It came out PERFECT-so juicy and flavorful!! I did put the garlic- in small chunks from the marinade on top of the tenderloin prior to putting it in the oven. Everyone raved! This is my new fav guest/dinner party menu item .....the only downside is the price of beef tenderloin ($13.99/lb) or we'd have this more often and not just special occasions. The cheese sauce was great-but it gets thick once it cools....I'd suggest to keep it in one of the thermal gravy type servers if you have it avail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLEHMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Oh My Stars! I screwed this recipe up and came away with a complete winner that has blown us away!!!!! Hubby and I were preparing our Valentines dinner, we had two strip steaks. I didn't read the recipe correctly. I halved the amounts due to just having two steaks. I did not marinate the meat, we grilled it with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I then put ALL of the ingredients together in a saucepan. The exceptions were that I used FETA cheese and used the garlic out of the jar from the produce section. I used a really good Merlot that we had with our dinner. This gave the mixture a pink appearance that was PERFECT for Valentines Day! I was worried in the beginning, but it turned out beautiful (candlelight makes us all look better - LOL!) We served this over the steaks, sauteed onions, jumbo cooked shrimp along with a baked potato that I had coated in olive oil and sea salt and then baked at 425 for one hour. We couldn't eat our salads. This needs to be submitted as its own recipe! My husband kept going "mmmmm" during the meal, LOL! *** 2/14/05 Made this again tonight for my children for Valentines Day. I only added a splash of Teriyaki sauce and 2 splashes of Worc. sauce and hubby and I liked it much better. My son went crazy over this! Delish! Thanks :-) ***Updat - Made this for Christmas Eve 2005. I made it exactly to recipe and it was DELICIOUS! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Delicious! My husband and teen loved it. I made this with a beef rump roast since tenderloin is out of our budget. I increased the garlic in the marinade to 4 cloves since we are garlic fanatics, used Merlot for the red wine, and increased the marinating time to about 3-4 hours for a less tender cut. I cooked the rump roast in a shallow pan at 325 for about 1/2 hour per pound for medium rare. Next time I think I will try a London Broil, and cook it using the tendeloin method described in this recipe. The sauce is outstanding, a wonderful blend of flavors, and the blue cheese taste isn't overpowering. We enjoyed the extra sauce on our baked potatoes. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I served this to 20 with some modifications. Everyone loved it. Try roasting 2 lbs. of thick cut mushrooms with the roast. I used Shitaki, Cremini, Button....coated in 4 tablespoons melted butter and 2 teaspoons minced garlic. This makes an excellent side to serve along with the blue cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I chose this recipe because it used a sauce, instead of rolling a layer of blue cheese inside of the tenderloin. It was a great choice. Not only was the sauce delicious (both on the beef but on baked potatoes), but it gave those who didn't like blue cheese a way to enjoy the flavorful meat. Even those who claimed to not like blue cheese approved of the smooth-tasting sauce. My only changes were, as others suggested, to increase the garlic to three cloves and to marinate it for a longer time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I made this for my father's 60th birthday dinner and got rave reviews. We all love beef and blue cheese, so the combination was perfect! I had a 6 lb tenderloin. I baked it without stringing it, as I wanted some parts more well done than the middle, as we had a pregnant woman and at least one person who liked their meat well done. That worked out perfectly! I served fresh roasted aparagus and roasted garlic mashed potatoes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
I am always looking for new ways to prepare beef tenderloiin. The sauce was incredible and I have also used it on grilled ribeyes. The second time I made the sauce, it was a bit salty but that was due to the brand of blue cheese. I always serve the sauce on the side. Tremendous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
The meat was a little more well done than our family likes. Those non-blue cheese lovers thought the sauce was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I just didn't like this sauce. I love blue cheese but this sauce was not good and I ended up throwing the whole thing out. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
The sauce is divine! I also used it on my garlic mashed patatos, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States