Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
love this sauce, and it's so simple. i'm going to make less next time, because there's always a bit too much for four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I used Beef Medallions that I grilled in place of the tenderloin. I also used Gorgonzola in place of the Blue Cheese (because that is what I had on hand) and the entree was delicious! Our guests asked for the recipe. The SAUCE is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Superb!! There are few words to express how delicious this dish is. It is a recipe that I will serve not only on special occasions or to special guests, but to family when tenderloin is on sale. I followed this recipe exactly and it could not have turned out better. Thanks so much for a wonderful way to prepare Tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was just OK for me. I had this a couple of years ago... my sister made it for Christmas Eve dinner. I cooked mine the SAME way, but, for some reason, I just wasn't as happy with the end result (hers tasted WAY better than mine did). I marinated my 3.5 lb. tenderloin (couldn't find a 3 lb. one - all were between 3 and 4 lbs.) in a large roasting pan since that's all I had on hand. My sister used a small Pyrex baking dish to marinate hers. Perhaps this made a difference? My tenderloin started to smoke in the oven (i.e. the the pan juices were burning). Had I used a smaller baking dish, this probably wouldn't have been an issue. My tenderloin was not burned, but it sure gave me a scare (can you imagine ruining Christmas Eve dinner??!!?!?)!!! I had to take my roast out of the oven when it was medium-rare. I do not like any meat cooked less than medium-well (I actually prefer well done), but all of my guests like theirs RARE (I was outnumbered again... sigh). I sure got a good deal on the tenderloin. If you live in the Chicagoland area, go to Caputo's Italian Market. They always have good and affordable cuts of meat (I got my tenderloin for $20; my sister paid double this in St. Louis). Served with blue cheese sauce, potato gratin with chicken broth, garlic and thyme (by Pam Anderson), steamed asparagus and Ghirardelli individual molten chocolate cakes for dessert. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The sauce on this tenderloin was a hit with my dinner guests! The reciped called for 2/3 cup of sour creme; I used a full cup to lessen the intensity of the blue cheese taste. I would do that again and most certainly use the recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The Blue Cheese sauce for this recipe is very strong. A little bit goes a long way. When we served this, most people avoided the sauce, or if they did have some, they only took a small amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I used a different cut of meat..but the results were incredible. I don't even like beef, just made it for my boyfriend. Not only is the marinade fabulous...that sauce is incredible! I woke up and ate it for breakfast too! I used a large sirloin and broiled it the same way. I imagine that any somewhat fatty cut of meat would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Delicious! Everyone loved it. The meat was so tender and full of flavour, and the sauce...YUM! I will definitely add this recipe to the family favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States