Blue Cheese Beef Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
The dough was a little hard to work with. Kept falling apart. Know I use pilsbery crescent rolls instead. However good flavor with the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
It was OK... I'll probably make it again but with some changes. I used Pillsbury Cresecent Rolls (2 tubes) instead of the recipe's dough, and I only baked it for about 10 minutes. Next time, I'll try using the recipe's dough, since the crescents were too hard to work with. As for the recipe itself, very nice. I'd add more blue cheese for flavor and leave out the walnuts... don't feel like they added anything. Also, 2 lbs made almost twics as much filling as I needed! I'm passing the leftovers on to my mom to mkae her own, since I don't want this 2 nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I have been making a variant of this recipe for years, eliminating the cream cheese in the crust and using blue cheese instead. In my opinion, the crust is better without the cream cheese. I use about 2/3 cup blue cheese, cream it with the butter, add the flour and stir til it's crumbly, then add the milk. A previous rater said the crust is hard to work with. It is if you're used to bread dough and such but once you've worked with it a couple of times it becomes easier. I also add chopped ripe olives and chopped marinated artichoke hearts and chopped mushrooms to the "fillin'". I have heard some vegetarians omit the beef and use bulgur instead. Oh, and also I use the cream cheese that I didn't use in the crust in the filling. When cooled, the CC also helps the filling bind and makes it easier to shape when adding it to the crust. This dish is a favorite with everyone I've ever made it for. Good to see it made it onto the web. I've searched for it before with no luck. I originally found it in an old cookbook that referred to it as a Mexican dish! Could that be? Never knew Mexican (or even Tex-Mex) to lean towards blue cheese in anything. But you never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Delicious but very heavy and very fattening. Terrific reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made some changes to this so maybe my rating isn't entirely fair. I am notoriously bad at making pastry so I just used 2 tubes of crescent roll dough instead and I left out the black olives and walnuts due to personal taste. We found this to be rather salty. I think I'll keep tinkering with this, as it wasn't bad for a first try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
It's Okay - we made this twice. I don't think we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
The flavor was great. I made 3. I used Pepperidge Farm puff pastry instead which was impossible to mix with the cream cheese, spread along the bottom. Also made a vegetarian with imitation beef and that was great said my vegetarian. The flavors were terrific together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Oh my goodness, this recipe was so delicious and fun to make I can't wait to try it again! I especially loved the pastry and how easy that was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This sounded amazing, but turned out heavy and bland. The problem I think is too much ground meat and too little sauce. I will try again, with 1 lb. of meat. It looks gorgeous, but we were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Herrin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States