Blue Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is delicious. Second time I am making it. I did notice the one I froze crumbled when I went to roll it in the nuts so I think it is not a good one to make ahead and freeze. It is very easy to whip up. Its what others call "a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was a great base from which to start! I had feta cheese instead of blue cheese, so substituted that. I also added a dollop of sour cream and a few dashes of cayenne pepper to "hop" it up a bit. Turned out delicious! I'm impatient when making a cheese ball, so I don't wait overnight to finish it. You'll get a bit messy, but it's OK to form your cheese ball when it's soft and sticky and roll it in the walnuts. Then you can start eating it earlier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This has more character than and run of the mill recipe. Good with wine and better for refined palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mingo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I have been making it for 10 years and my mother before me since before I was born. You have to love blue cheese and it definitly needs a night in the fridge to let the flavors mingle. I roll mine as soon as I mix the cheese up. Then I wrap it in plastic wrap, add a red bow to tie it up, put it in the fridge overnight and its ready for transport to anyones house. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this for my Christmas appetizer. It was delicious! My mom (and her discerning palate) happily munched on this and wanted to take some home with her. This is a very good sign! Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Haleyville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent, makes 2 balls or logs. No changes at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beagle
Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This cheeseball is delicious! I do omit the onions and use pecans in place of walnuts. With these minor modifications, it tastes EXACTLY like the one my late father used to make for Christmas Eve every year. I've been looking for this recipe for awhile. Thank you for posting it! By the way, it is a MUST that this chill overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Made this over the holidays. My family thought it was excellent! I used pecans instead of walnuts and also mixed them in with the cheese ball instead of rolling them on the outside. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was really great. I used pecans-on hand. Nuts really added to this recipe. I cut it back by about 1/3 and it made a large log of cheese. Yummy in celery too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This is great - don't substitute the cheese for something else and don't try to freeze it - making ahead means you can wrap in cling wrap or foil and refrigerate it overnight for flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States