Blue Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I have been making a recipe very similar to this for about 40 years. I lost my recipe several years ago. I checked here just to make sure I should add worcester sauce. My recipe calls for a small wedge of blue cheese and a small jar of Kraft Old English cheddar spread. My grocer was out of the Old English today so I substituted the shredded cheddar which tastes just as good. I don't use onion but I did use minced garlic. Recipe was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Church

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this recently for a holiday party and it was a huge hit! I used pecans instead of walnuts and added them in the mixture - I still rolled it in pecans the next day. I also used extra sharp cheddar cheese. And I added a pinch of minced garlic. It travels well and holds up for a party. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I used very high quality blue cheese and I thought it was a little strong. I would cut the amount of blue cheese back considerably
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Oh my goodness! I have not been able to have cheeseballs in so long, so I tried this recipe for a party. Such a hit!! I made it as-is, but with less walnuts. 1/2 cup instead of 1, which was more than enough! Some hints- I put mine in an electric mixer and that blended and crushed the cheddar cheese so that it wasn't really obvious there was cheese in there- So good and creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I personally cannot stand blue cheese and am not a fan of cream cheese either. I made this for hubby and my 5 star rating is based off of his feedback. I made as written except that I used pecans instead of the walnuts (his preference). So simple to prepare and with few ingredients yet packed full of flavor. This one is a keeper for the blue cheese lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My favorite cheese ball recipe that always brought rave revues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this tonight and couldn't wait to chill it and make it into a ball -- it is absolutely delicious! Especially if you are looking for a cheese ball with a good sharp taste to it! I made no substitutions -- only used New York Sharp Cheddar (which is a very sharp variety). This one is going into my "make again" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALAWIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have been making this Cheese Ball for years and it is still one of my favorite things ever. I usually only make it during the Holidays, but I would love to have one in the fridge all the time. The only differences I make is to use pecans instead of Walnuts and I go ahead and roll it in the nuts right away on wax paper and then wrap the whole thing up in wax paper and refrigerate it. I have found that refrigerating it first makes it crumbly and is hard to get the nuts to stick well. It is a little messy to do it soft, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this cheese ball once and it was a big hit. I'm making it again to take as an appetizer for a family Thanksgiving dinner. Super easy to make and has a lot of great, but mellow, blue cheese flavor without being too strong for those who may not enjoy straight blue cheese. I followed the recipe 100% (using red onion because it didn't specify which type) and really enjoyed it served with a hearty wheat or whole grain cracker. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
As someone who is trying to find "PERFECT, MAKE AHEAD, so you can enjoy your guests" recipes, this is a KEEPER! Very EASY, yet exquisite. I'm not a fan of someone giving a recipe one star, and then you find they changed everything about the recipe - but most who changed this recipe a little, gave it 5 stars. So, I did add a little garlic powder and tobasco sauce as recommended by reviews, and since I don't care for walnuts, I used pecans. WOW!! I entertain frequently and I'm guilty of trying very complicated appetizers that keep me in the kitchen, away from the party. This recipe will be on the base list of what I am serving EVERY time, so I can spend time with my guests with a glass of wine in my hand. LOVE!! And my husband, who is not a big fan of blue cheese, loved it too. I plan on serving it alongside roasted grapes with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States