Blue Cheese, Bacon and Pear Brunch Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
It was okay...but not something I will probably eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 29, September 2012 ~ This was an interesting little sandwich. We liked the ingredients, just not crazy about them served together. I made mine with the called for blue cheese and made my husband's with feta cheese. We felt there needed to be something spread on the bread before adding the toppings, maybe a THIN layer of mayonnaise or possibly broiling the bread with olive oil before adding everything else. We ate them and took some to the neighbors to try. I'm glad we tried this as we do enjoy new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Made for Recipe Group. This was an interesting combination of flavors. I loved the sweet & salty thing. I did not have focaccia bread, and so used one slice of pumpernickel, and one slice of wheat. Otherwise I stuck close to the recipe. This was my lunch today, but I'm hungry again, so not too filling. Mr C & the kids are too picky to try these, but they will be good to bring to a luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 9/29/12. I didn't follow the recipe exactly because I didn't have apple juice, so I improvised and I think it worked quite well. I cooked my bacon and sliced my pear as it cooked. I removed the bacon and sauteed the pear slices in the drippings. I assembled my sandwiches on homemade French Bread, but it seemed as if it might need more moisture, so I spread each toasted slice with about a tsp of bleu cheese dressing, then added the pear slices then the bacon and finally the crumbled bleu cheese. The only complaint brought to my attention was I should have made twice as much. Thanks, Harleaghsgirl, this is a keeped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...YUM! I cheated and used canned pears b/c I already had those on hand, and i figured that once the pears cooked in the apple juice, it would pretty much be the same thing. I also used some homemade Italian bread that I lightly toasted on both sides before topping w/ the pears, bacon and blue cheese. This had a wonderful flavor, and I loved the sweet/savory/tangy combination! This would be a great appetizer on toasted baguette slices, or just alongside a nice salad for light lunch or dinner. I will def be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Okay so I didn't exactly do this recipe as written. I basicacly used the idea of it. I used small sour dough sliced cocktail bread, broiled each slice then flipped it over spread poppy seed dressing on one side. I then added the pear and bacon. I used feta cheese and mozzarella cheese instead of the blue cheese. I then broiled them for just a minute or two. Then and drizzled more poppy seed dressing on top. I made this for a party and could not keep enough of them going. Every one loved them. It took a while for people to figure out the flavors. The pears are very subtle. The poppy seed dressing added a sweet topping. It was labor intense though. But sooo worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Loved this!!!!!!!!!! I also made a batch with Cambert and it was milder but awsome. I think any cheese you like would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I LOVE blue cheese. Great idea. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyTaste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These sandwiches are pretty tasty, but I replaced the pear with Fuji apple slices and melted the blue cheese to give it some crisp as well as something to take away the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is decent in taste, but nothing special like I was expecting. If you hate blue cheese, this won't have enough "yum" to overcome that. It's almost bland, to be honest. Would be better with a spread or sauce or something to tie the flavors together. I'm a major fan of all these flavors, but having them together didn't make magic like I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States