Blooming Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
if you slice the onion and then soak it in ice water for about an hour it will "bloom" or open up so you can serve it like the Chilis and Outback do. The souce is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
This is by far the best blooming onion I have ever had. I am now using this recipe for mushrooms and zucchini as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. Not only does it make a great "blooming onion", but it also makes great onion rings, if you prefer them. And it makes good onion petals, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is basically the same exact recipe as the "Blooming Onion and Dipping sauce" recipe on the site. Its a very good recipe and makes great blooming onions. And the sauce is delicious! Just make sure to warm it up slightly before serving. I just dont think it tastes as good cold. If you are scared or have had failed at making blooming onions in the past I have some great pointers to help make one perfect. Look at my review for the other Blooming Onion recipe on the site and I have more detailed info there. I used to never be able to make them until I did a couple steps differently and now they turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
We were craving the blooming onion after seeing a billboard for Outback Steakhouse. This recipe was awesome, we had fun getting everything together and it turned out great!!! Thank you for an easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was very good...very similar to other blooming onion recipe on this site. Like them both equally. You do need to soak the onion in an ice bath for at least an hour in order for it to actually bloom (like other reviewers suggested). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
After seeing a commercial on TV for the Outback Steakhouse, I got a craving for their Bloomin' Onion. This recipie was absolutely perfect! I made onion rings based on others' reviews, so it was easy and delicious! The dipping sauce is also just what I was looking for. My boyfriend wants to keep it around for dipping other foods, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
It takes some practice but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
We've always loved onion blooms when we eat out, this is an excellent recipe, tastes just like them. And the sauce is great too! My deep fat fryer doesn't do a whole onion well, so I make rings or petals instead, and get raves every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMOM1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
To be fair, I think my onion was too small. The dip is delicious and will use it on other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States