Blooming Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
It takes some practice but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
To be fair, I think my onion was too small. The dip is delicious and will use it on other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
This is by far the best blooming onion I have ever had. I am now using this recipe for mushrooms and zucchini as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. Not only does it make a great "blooming onion", but it also makes great onion rings, if you prefer them. And it makes good onion petals, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
After seeing a commercial on TV for the Outback Steakhouse, I got a craving for their Bloomin' Onion. This recipie was absolutely perfect! I made onion rings based on others' reviews, so it was easy and delicious! The dipping sauce is also just what I was looking for. My boyfriend wants to keep it around for dipping other foods, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
We've always loved onion blooms when we eat out, this is an excellent recipe, tastes just like them. And the sauce is great too! My deep fat fryer doesn't do a whole onion well, so I make rings or petals instead, and get raves every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMOM1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
We were craving the blooming onion after seeing a billboard for Outback Steakhouse. This recipe was awesome, we had fun getting everything together and it turned out great!!! Thank you for an easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
if you slice the onion and then soak it in ice water for about an hour it will "bloom" or open up so you can serve it like the Chilis and Outback do. The souce is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
The dipping sauce was great, but my blooming onion lovers wanted alot more horse raddish, also the recipe for the batter was great, but instead I just cut my onions into rings, make sure that you coat as thick as you can! They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Fantastic recipe! It's restaurant style, only cheaper! I found it difficult getting the onion to 'bloom' so I may opt to make onion rings next time- but definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States