Blooming Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
okay. The flavor was good, but it wasn't very clear on how to bloom the onion. I cut only the top off, cut all the way down when cutting across, and put it in HOT water for it to bloom. The bottom of the onion helped to keep the onion together. I would suggest bread crumbs for the second flouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Dumplin
Living In: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Love this recipe! My husband and I are big outback fans and this is pretty dead on! I did however have some problems with my onion "blooming" I will try a bigger one next time and also try ice water! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Very good recipe. I used this recipe to make onion petals/chips. I didn't make the sauce...I prefer mine dipped in ranch. The only thing I did different in the recipe was only put a little less then 1 tsp on cayenne pepper and will probably only use 1/2 tsp next time (I have a weak tongue for spicy food!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Flavor 5 stars! Ease of preparation 3 stars. (ie: only 4 star recipe) the dipping sauce was great after I too added a couple splashes of liquid smoke and also a tbsp of prepared horseradish as the taste before the real horseradish tasted all too much like mayo. Maybe next time I'll just replace the creamed horseradish with prepared all the way!!! Love the heat of horseradish though! The onion, lol, cut it in petals as it fell apart trying to bloom it. The batter double dipping was very messy. this is definately a recipe you must dip one petal at a time and likely will need double flour mixture to get a good double dip as I ran out and ended up with lots of gooey messy batter. So extra flour mix could've fixed that. Dip was great! Breading was great flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this although our onion did not coat well and therefore did not fry evenly. I did as some suggested and submerged in Ice Water for an hour. Also next time I will use less Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is basically the same exact recipe as the "Blooming Onion and Dipping sauce" recipe on the site. Its a very good recipe and makes great blooming onions. And the sauce is delicious! Just make sure to warm it up slightly before serving. I just dont think it tastes as good cold. If you are scared or have had failed at making blooming onions in the past I have some great pointers to help make one perfect. Look at my review for the other Blooming Onion recipe on the site and I have more detailed info there. I used to never be able to make them until I did a couple steps differently and now they turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Way to spicy for us. I only ever had a blooming onion from texas road house b4, and this was not even close. Way to spicy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Really good. The sauce was incredible!!! I cut onion into petals (got too frustrated trying to bloom that onion!), however the petals did kind of stick together in the deep fryer and ended up staying stuck together. Extremely time consuming but good for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
So many ingredients, but Soooo worth it. Tasted as good or better than thos at those restaurants. The person who said they now use it for other veggies has a good idea, can't wait to try that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
YUM. I ended up taking the easy way out and just made onion rings...yep lazy. I used two very big sweet onions and ended up having to double the flour mixture, which by the way I was worried about my 5 yr. olds little buds because of the cayenne, but he devoured at least 5 of them! Geez, I've not had a bloomin' onion in years, so I can't even compare, but this is a very tasty recipe, I will use this again.....can't help but wonder how it would be as a fish batter. Thanks for the recipe Joanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States