Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Here's a trick for cutting these great onion treats & also fanned potatoes. Place the handle of a wooden spoon on either side of the onion/potato. When you slice you won't accidently cut to far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Lloyd
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I will make it again. Just need to open up the petals more to get batter inside. Tastes great just like Outbacks onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lloyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
BOMB.COM. Wow! These were incredible!! I took the advice of other reviewers and did petals instead of blooms for ease. Worked perfectly. The texture of the batter was incredible. YUM!!! Only took 4-6 minutes in my little fryer and I did three small batches at a time. The horseradish I had was expired :( so I improvised with the sauce, adding Franks buffalo, Worcestershire, and garlic salt. Was weird tasting on its own but it was MADE for those petals. Incredible recipe, will definitely make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sneezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Made this sauce and it was great and evev awesome with a white fish instead of tarter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sperry614
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
great recipe and eat to follow.the dip is loved by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
We really liked this one. I used a jumbo onion and everything still turned out great. Next time I won't double dip in the batter, I don't think it was needed. To make the slicing easier, I cut off the bottom and then used an electric knife to cut into 16 wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I sauce with the recipe is fantastic! My husband loved this recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Excellent recipe. If you don't have a handy onion cutter and have issues with cutting all the way through....try a jar lid ring. sit the onion on the jar ring (if using a smaller onion) and you will only cut down to the ring. If using a larger onion that wont fit in a jar ring...try something similar, like a cutting board on each side of the onion for a "knife stop".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I wasn't very happy with how this turned out. It was to thick and caused my onion to turn into a big blob. The batter was extremely thick and caused the onion to not bloom even though I put it in the oil petals down so that the oil would help them spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
If you want the batter to really stick to the onions, place battered onions in the freezer for 10 min then direct into the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States