Bloomin' Onion Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. Very easy to make, and it tastes very close to the dips that they serve in those famous restaurant chains. I think that you could use this for a veggie dip, or possibly a potatoe chip dip too. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Its a keeper, will defineately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This really does not remind me of a "blooming onion sauce." It tastes just like cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I was looking for a bloomin’ sauce to serve with fried mushrooms. I found this one and another very similar one on a copycat site that was supposed to be the real deal from the famous steakhouse. The main difference in the other recipe was that it was mayonnaise based instead of the sour cream. The spices were only slightly different. I tried this one because I love sour cream. This was good and went well with my mushrooms but I will try the other recipe next time. I did see you can buy bloomin’ sauce in the grocery in a bottle but it’s pricey. It’s near the onions in the produce section. I have to say this (and the other recipe) was very easy to make with inexpensive ingredients I normally have on hand. So save your money and make it fresh at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Thanks for a recipe that does NOT include mayonnaise!!! This is really good. My son tried a variation of BBQ sauce in place of the ketchup for a chicken strip dip. It was a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
excellent - we love this dip with everything!! you could eat it with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Great recipe! It was quick and easy! I did add 3 teaspoons of horseradish to spice it up a bit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I tweaked this quite a bit. I used the sour cream and ketchup but since I didn't have the seasoned salt, and didn't want to use red pepper flakes, I ended up using about 3 Tbs of creamy horseradish, about 1/2 tsp salt and probably 1 1/2 Tbs Southwest seasoning by Emeril. Overall it came out pretty good - even with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I tweaked this recipe a bit with a little more red pepper and horseradish, I like a little more spice. Either way, this turns out great. A must when having onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Our family really enjoys this recipe. I've always left out the pepper flakes just because it's not something I ever have in the house. We use the dip mostly for dipping jalepeno poppers. Very tastey...and very much like the steak-house dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carthage, New York, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States