Bloody Mary Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Interesting mix of ingredients and was a perfect way to use the last of the Bloody Mary mix left over from Thanksgiving day. Used a roast as that's all I had in the freezer and was not about to venture out in near blizzard/white out conditions for short ribs. Only two changes based on personal preference.... added garlic and used low sodium beef stock to counter the sodium in the Bloody Mary mix. Put all into the crockpot and let the smell permeate the house while watching the snow. Served over rice with a small green salad. Perfect antidote to turkey after Thanksgiving day. Thanks RCHEISS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
As I read the recipe, something kept niggling at the back of my consciousness. I couldn't quite put my finger on it. Then it hit me. There was no garlic in the dish!!! I wept! Then I added 5 cloves of finely chopped garlic to the leeks as I added them to the pot. That was the only change needed. This dish is TOTALLY a keeper! Don't you DARE pass this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
OMG!!!!!!! This dish was absolutely AMAZING!!!! I had to make a couple of changes bc my dutch oven was only 3.1 liters. I followed the recipe exactly except only used 2 cups bloody mary mix, added 4 gloves smashed garlic. Other than that, I made no changes. This is the first recipe that I made in my new Dutch Oven. I served the ribs on the side and other ingredients on top of long grain wild rice with mashed potatoes on the side. I know... 2 starches but hubby wanted the mashed. Absolutely fabulous!!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These short ribs were great! Suggest low sodium beef stock (bloody mary mix is loaded), 4 clove minced/crushed garlic, 8 oz mushrooms (you can add the stems in also separately) and thicken at the end with 2-3 Tbs corn starch dissolved in water. Serve with/over thin egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Loved this recipe! Didn't have any ribs on hand so I put a roast in the crockpot and threw all of the other ingredients on top. The aroma was wonderful all day and the whole family enjoyed. Thanks for a great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woman Whisking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We nixed the leeks, beef stock, carrots and onions. Swapped half of the canned tomatoes for fresh and the red wine for red wine VINEGAR in much smaller dose. IT WAS AWESOME!!! Think short-ribs creole...mmmm......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seminole, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Really good. I added garlic and I didn't have Bloody Mary Mix so I made my own using V8 Juice and celery salt, whorchestershire sauce and tobasco to taste. I also forgot to add the can of tomatoes so it was thick but we ate it up served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis0119

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Easy and excellent. The onion, leeks, tomatoes and broth braise the ribs perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LakeStevensWA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matthew
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this recipe almost as is. Per other reviews I did add garlic, I did not have cloves so I used about 1 teaspoon powder. I also added celery to suit my taste and used baby carrots in lieu of cut whole. The cooking method seemed over complicated to me so I opted to use the slow cooker. I put the ribs at the bottom followed by the vegetables and then the liquids and seasonings. I let it cook on high for 2 hours and then low for the rest of the day, about 8 hours total...I served it freestanding with redskinned mashed potatoes on the side. The rest of the bottle of red wine went great with dinner. It was a California red blend...P.S Use the spicy Bloody Mary mix if you want more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States