Bloody Mary Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Really good. I added garlic and I didn't have Bloody Mary Mix so I made my own using V8 Juice and celery salt, whorchestershire sauce and tobasco to taste. I also forgot to add the can of tomatoes so it was thick but we ate it up served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I absolutely loved the flavor of this dish, but I just couldn't get over the fattiness of the ribs. I even made sure to pick the leanest ribs I could find at the butchers, and it was still too fatty for my family's tastes. I will be making this again, but I will use a roast instead of the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownHomeGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
It was delicious. My friends couldn't believe it was the first time I made it. I might try it with different meat next time. I don't like a lot of fat in my meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
use ingredients as directed but tossed it all in the crock pot for the day - added garlic and some cumin. super tender but it needed something - not sure what - a little on the sweet side - could have been the bloody mary mix I used - might try a zippier version next time - and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
After reading the reviews, I added 3 cloves of garlic, before I put everything in the oven. Other than the addition of garlic, I followed the recipe exactly as written. I loved this recipe, and so did everyone else at dinner. This is a definite keeper. Thanks RCHEISS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
As long as you can find the short ribs on sale (!), this is a wonderful recipe. Excellent snowy Sunday dinner. I do add garlic and onions, but you don't have to. My whole family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rugit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
As I read the recipe, something kept niggling at the back of my consciousness. I couldn't quite put my finger on it. Then it hit me. There was no garlic in the dish!!! I wept! Then I added 5 cloves of finely chopped garlic to the leeks as I added them to the pot. That was the only change needed. This dish is TOTALLY a keeper! Don't you DARE pass this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
OMG!!!!!!! This dish was absolutely AMAZING!!!! I had to make a couple of changes bc my dutch oven was only 3.1 liters. I followed the recipe exactly except only used 2 cups bloody mary mix, added 4 gloves smashed garlic. Other than that, I made no changes. This is the first recipe that I made in my new Dutch Oven. I served the ribs on the side and other ingredients on top of long grain wild rice with mashed potatoes on the side. I know... 2 starches but hubby wanted the mashed. Absolutely fabulous!!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These short ribs were great! Suggest low sodium beef stock (bloody mary mix is loaded), 4 clove minced/crushed garlic, 8 oz mushrooms (you can add the stems in also separately) and thicken at the end with 2-3 Tbs corn starch dissolved in water. Serve with/over thin egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was good if you're into short ribs (they are a little fatty for my liking). I like another reviewer's idea of using a roast, or maybe I'll try it with beef stew meat next time. Also, in order to fit into my 5 liter Corningware dutch oven, I needed to cut back on the liquids (only used 2 C of bloody mary mix and would also cut back a bit on the wine and beef stock) Also, yield is more like 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States