Bloody Mary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
DELICIOUS & EASY! We loved it! It was a snap to make, smelled delicious while cooking, and tasted even better. I added chopped onion and garlic, and threw in some frozen GREEN BEANS to round out the meal (I served it over orzo with the extra sauce). Really good! Be sure to use a Bloody Mary mix that is to your liking (Mild, or spicy)- that may have been the problem that some other reviewers had - I can't imagine anyone not liking this! Thank you! UPDATE: 05/19/10 Still making this 8 YEARS later! I use Mr&Mrs T's bold & spicy 'mary mix w/ bone in/boneless chicken. As with ANY recipe, SEASON TO TASTE! It smells great & tastes great - serve over rice, pasta, quinoa; you can throw in frozen veggies (if using fresh veggies, throw in only for the last 2 hours.) A terrific recipe in my regular rotation. I've made this so many times now, & everyone has always loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I also added a few of my own ingredients that added a wonderful flavor to the chicken! I added celery, onion, garlic, and chicken broth and cooked it with chicken legs & thighs. It was great! I also cooked some white rice and used the broth from the crock pot instead of water. It was great! The chicken fell right off the bone and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
This has become one of my favorite meals! I, however, add onions, green peppers and real bacon bits. Right before it's done I throw in spagetti that has been cooked about 3/4 the way done and let that simmer to finish cooking spagetti. I have also made this in less than an hour by half-way cooking the chicken. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Absolutly fantastic. I added 3 chopped celery sticks and a green ball pepper (dont eat after though, it gives chicken a great taste, but is very bitter after cooking so long). I also added about 2 tablespoons of Tabasco sauce. After chicken was cooked through, I SHREDDED it, then put it back into the sauce for 15 minutes to saturate. Served over rice. It was so good!! I made a couple times according to the recipe, but the breasts came out so dry. The bloody mary mix is a brilliant idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I only gave this 4 stars because I personally thought this was a very bland chicken, but with some tweaks a great recipe! I seasoned the chicken with crushed garlic, pepper and celery salt. Poured Mr & Mrs T's bloody Mary Mix over it, added cubed cream cheese evenly around the crock pot, with a dash of tabasco and worchestershire. Let it cook on low for about 6 hours. The chicken was falling apart and very flavorful! I removed the chicken, whisked the sauce just to blend the cream cheese and thickened it to use over the chicken and pasta I prepared to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is a great and easy recipe. I added onion and celery which added additional flavor. Served over buttered egg noodles - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I added a little sour cream for a creamier flavor and used the extra spicy mix. It was so good we didn't have leftovers, and that NEVER happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This turned out disappointingly bland. It may have been the bloody mary mix I used. I would also add some onions and garlic to cook with the chicken next time. Really important to have a tangy mix for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
We did not like it, it was watery and bland. Would not make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
The bloody mary mix is great for starters but does need some chopped onions or something. I added a can of chopped tomatoes w/italian spices and a small can of mushrooms about 1 hr before serving time. I made white rice that I poured the sauce over. I would recommend this recipe but advise to think about adding some veggies and your choice of a couple spices "kick this up a notch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States