Bloody Mary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I thought the taste was excellent. The acid went to town on the chicken and it totally fell apart. I wasn't expecting that so that is why it got 4 stars, but I will definitely use this recipe if I want tomato based, bloody mary spiced shredded chicken as a base to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a tasty starter recipe. I changed a few things myself.... started with 3 Large boneless Breasts and 30 ounces of Bloody mary Mix.... I didnt have the spicy one on hand so I added some Tabasco. let that cook on high for about 90 minutes. i then added 1 block of cream cheese & cooked on low for about 2 more hours. i then added a can of corn & 1 of green beans. i removed chicken so i could chop/shred it and return to the mixture... i then boiled up some pasta and added to the crock pot. changed settign to low for another 20 minutes then gobbled it up. 1 kid preferred it w/o the "juice" in the bowl, my other child and I loved the flavor of the broth. it was very delicious and i will be making this again.... .oh yea i also sprinkled i nsome garlic powder and season salt and celery salt... just for some added flavor... thank you so much. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This turned out so well! I seasoned the chicken breasts with some Italian seasoning before adding to the slow cooker, and added some minced garlic to the sauce. The chicken was so tender that it fell apart when I was checking it. I broke it apart while in the slow cooker and let it sit for a little while longer. Amazing! I did check the chicken at around 6 hours and it was already done. Served over brown rice. Very good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steps

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Had this for dinner tonight. The chicken was very moist and tasty. I thickened up the sauce on the stove top with a little cornstarch. I just had the chicken and sauce alone. Next time I think I'll try adding in some veggies during the last bit of time, shredding this and serving over a grain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I added a chopped onion, fresh chopped garlic, and a can of Italian stewed tomatoes. When it was done cooking I shredded the chicken and stirred in some sour cream. We ate the chicken over rice and it was pretty good. My kids and hubby liked itr and asked for it to go on the "make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Only gave it 3. It was good but like others said needs something more. I think I will try this again but add somethings suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Crawford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The whole family loved it! Wasnt too spicy for my 3 year old. I used Zing Zang bloody mary mix and that has been my favorite mix so far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela831

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heflin, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
My hubby thought the taste was good, but we were hoping for a thicker sauce - I did add alot of extras - onion, bell pepper, garlic, can diced tomatoes. Tried to thicken it up with cream cheese and even corn starch but it just wasn't what I hoping for. I shredded it and served over pasta. It is very easy to make and smelled great, but I don't think I will try this one again - but that's just my personal taste. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Chamberlain Den Dunnen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
So Easy, So Good. I've made this several times and and found that the 'bold and spicy' bloody mary mix gave it a bit more kick. Good either way though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
As others have shared, add onion and garlic, Frank's hot sauce will wake it up even more. I made mine using V8 spicy juice it was great. I also added a can crushed tomatoes with green chilies about 1 hour before done. Man is this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States