Blondie Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I've been making these blondies for the past several weeks now because my boyfriend likes them so much. Only a couple of differences with my version: * I use 1/3 cup of real butter instead of shortening. The butter pretty much makes this treat. *I use 2/3 cup of brown sugar...it's definitely sweet enough without the other 1/3 cup * I use 1/4 cup chopped pecans & I fold in 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips for a "macadamia" feel to it. Also, make sure you mix the flour mixture a little at a time so the mixture stays smooth. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMILLYA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I made this recipe at home and although it was easy, i felt, actually know that it should say butter, NOT shortening. When I took it out of the over, a disgusting smell of shortening entered my kitchen, i began to gag and after i tried the awful thing i had to spit it out right away. Please Camellia, don't worry about people not wanting butter in their dishes, worry about them gagging at the smell. Although i will NEVER use this site again for my baking needs, if i did i would certainly use butter now that i know what awful food comes out of the "shortening desserts".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
If you make the following changes, this will be a 5 star recipe: Butter instead of Shortening Use softened butter and beat with mixer (skip the whole melting in a pot bit) Skip the nuts I doubled this recipe- a single batch made too thin of a blondie. Baking time will be 25-30 minutes depending on your oven. When made with those changes, the blondie is soft, moist, and reminds me of the blondies they would serve at summer camp as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I found these to be very bland and dry. I was looking for a recipe close to the Blondies that Applebees serves and this just wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This recipe needs some "tweaking". I subistuted the crisco with real butter because I don't care for the crisco flavor and I think it made it better. This recipe didn't have near enough flour. To get a ture blondie/brownie you need at least twice the flour if not more. The batter was way to thin however I gave my first batch a try the way Camellia said. When you put it into the oven-----let it cook for exactly 20 minutes and DO NOT CHECK ON IT! The second I opened the oven door my batter fell like a brick! Try using All Purpose Flour and double it so the batter looks more like brownie batter. The flavor of the blondie itself was great. I ended up scraping the flattened mixture off the bottom of the pan and sharing it with my boyfriend. I will tweak it and give another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windband
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great recipe! I followed another reviewer's suggestion, using only 1/3 cup of butter and 2/3 cup of brown sugar. Also, I added another 2 tablespoons of milk, which made it moist enough. Tasty!! I almost ate the whole batch myself. I will try to add chocolate chips or cranberries next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I make a recipe similar to this but I use 1/4 stick of margarine-- 2 T of milk-- 1 t of baking powder and 1 cup of butterscotch morsels. What I like about the recipe is that it's very easy and never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Very addictive! I did reduce the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup and added chocolate chips to replace the nuts. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Made this recipe for my family. It was simple and delicious. The kids ate most of it, which is the best indicator of a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipie was very easy, quick and incredibly tasty without any topping or icing at all. The batter with just one tablespoon of milk was a bit dry and I used two tablespoons instead and it worked out much better and much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States