Blonde Brownies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was a pleasant surprise. I didn't change anything major but my son had a sudden craving for blondies so I had to make do with what we had. I used real butter instead of margarine and self-rising flour instead of all purpose (so I omitted the salt and baking powder) I didn't have any chocolate chips, but otherwise I used all the other ingredients as listed. I also don't always read instructions so I just dumped everything together and started mixing. I thought it was going to be a terrible disaster because the batter was a sticky, gooey mess and didn't pour well at all. It didn't even fully cover the bottom of the 9x13 pan. I baked it at 350 for about 15 minutes and then reduced it to 325 for 7 more minutes. Surprise! It was the most smooth and evenly golden pan of blondies I had ever seen! They weren't quite as sweet I would like..probably because I had no chocolate chips. If you make them without the chips, you should probably add a little more sugar. It's a keeper but I will use chocolate chips or M&Ms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe is awful, I wish I had read these reviews before I attempted it. The dough was entirely too sticky so I tried adding a little bit of milk. I had wanted to layer cherries in the middle but there was barely enough dough to cover the bottom of the pan, let alone save any for a top layer. 25 minutes in the center's barely baked so I'm bumping it up to 350. I will never make this recipe again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyBreaks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These are great! The only thing I'll do differently next time is to add about 1/2 tsp of salt. Also, I used butter when I made these yesterday, but I think I may try margarine, just to see if it makes much of a difference. But as written, this recipe makes nice chewy blond brownies. Warning: the batter is VERY thick — I actually used my hands to get it pressed into the pan evenly. Thanks for sharing, Lizbeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This recipe was delicious! We put in a mixture of butterscotch and chocolate chips and it was great. the batter tends to be very thick, and it is important to spread it evenly in the pan so it cooks evenly. I also cooked the blondies for 30 minutes instead of 15 because they were still a bit mushy at 15 minutes. Instead of just sprinkling the butterscotch & chocolate chips on the top, we also mixed them in with the batter. -Madeleine & Julia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soquel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've made these twice now and I pretty sure the first time I goofed and used 1 cup of white sugar as well as 1 cup of brown sugar, but I've decided I like it better that way. I did not measure the chips or nuts, just sprinkled an amount I thought was sufficient and the brownies were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These came out so soft for me that I had to put them in the fridge for the night to harden so I could cut them up. Also, there are way too many chocolate chips. It was almost unbearably sweet. Finally, at the end of the recipe, I just noticed it says to put pecans on the top, except pecans aren't mentioned in the ingredients. I may try this again, but will modify quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I thought this was the perfect blonde brownie recipe. Other recipes required extensive sifting, but not this one. It was very easy and quick to put together....I had it prepared in a little over 5 minutes and was eating brownies within about 30 minutes. It's very important that you note the UPDATE from the creator of the recipe. She made a note under the reviews about how many chocolate chips to use and how long to bake. If you follow her altered instructions, the recipe is perfect. Good flavor, and a really good consistency. Mine turned out a little gooey like brownies, but still cakelike. I made them in a 9x13 pan and baked for 28 minutes total. Any longer than that, and the edges would have been too done. 28 minutes was perfect. I added this to my recipe box, and I'll def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe was delicious. I made it exactly the way it is written. I used the full bag of chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate chips). I didn't think it was too much chocolate. I did, however, have to bake it much longer. I probably baked it 22 to 25 minutes. This was delicious right out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Not a bad recipe just not what I expected. The consistency was like a banana bread, just without the flavor. I made a chocolate sauce and made marble brownies instead of using the chips, but I wish I would have used the chips instead just for more flavor. More like a thick cake than a chewy brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Delicious right out of the oven but the day after they're hard :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States